Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Iowa Claims Big Ten Wrestling Title


2020 Final Results


PISCATAWAY, N.J. – Iowa won the 2020 Big Ten Wrestling Championships title on Sunday with a team score of 157.5. The Hawkeyes earned their 36th Big Ten Championships title and first since 2015. Iowa claimed three individual titles from Spencer Lee (125), Pat Lugo (149) and Alex Marinelli (165).


Nebraska finished in second place with 132.0 points, followed by third-place Ohio State with 112.0. Penn State claimedfourth place with 107.0 points and Purdue rounded out the top five with 83.0 points.


Iowa’s Spencer Lee was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year, while Hawkeye head coach Tom Brands was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. Northwestern’s Sebastian Rivera earned Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships honors and Penn State’s Aaron Brooks received the Big Ten Freshman of the Year award.


Iowa’s Lee claimed the 125-pound title after defeating Purdue’s Devin Schroder by a 16-2 major decision. At 133 pounds, the Wildcats’ Rivera posted a 7-2 decision over Roman Bravo-Young of Penn State to win his individual conference title.


Ohio State’s Luke Pletcher picked up a Big Ten title after defeating Penn State’s Nick Lee with a 6-5 decision to claim the 141-pound crown. The 149-pound crown went to Pat Lugo of Iowa, who earned a 2-1 decision over Ohio State’s Sammy Sasso.


At 157 pounds, Ryan Deakin of Northwestern claimed the win over Purdue’s Kendall Coleman with a 7-2 major decision. Iowa’s Alex Marinelli successfully defended his championship at 165 pounds following a 3-2 decision against No. 1-seeded Vincenzo Joseph of Penn State.


Mark Hall of Penn State defended his Big Ten title, winning the 174-pound championship with an 8-5 decision over Iowa’s Michael Kemerer. At 184 pounds, Penn State freshman Brooks was crowned following a 3-2 win against Michigan State’s Cameron Caffey.


Penn State’s Bo Nickal took home the 197-pound championship title, his third career conference crown, following a 4-1 victory over Eric Schultz of Nebraska. Rounding out the group of individual Big Ten Champions was No. 2 Gable Steveson of Minnesota, who claimed an 8-6 decision over No. 1 Mason Parris of Michigan.


The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found below, while the full results are attached.


Wrestler of the Year: Spencer Lee, IOWA
Freshman of the Year: Aaron Brooks, PSU

Coach of the Year: Tom Brands, IOWA
Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships: Sebastian Rivera, NU


Spencer Lee, IOWA

Pat Lugo, IOWA

Alex Marinelli, IOWA

Gable Steveson, MINN

Ryan Deakin, NU

Sebastian Rivera, NU

Kollin Moore, OSU

Luke Pletcher, OSU

Aaron Brooks, PSU

Mark Hall, PSU