Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

IWU’s DeMichael Repeats as Crossroads League AD of the Year


AVON, Ohio – Indiana Wesleyan’s Mark DeMichael has been named the 2019-2020 Crossroads League Athletic Director of the Year for a second-straight time. The honor is DeMichael’s fifth award in the past nine years.


“The Athletic Director-of-the-Year Award is a direct reflection of the outstanding work done by everyone in our athletic department,” said DeMichael. “The fact that it is an award voted on by friends and colleagues in the Crossroads League makes it very meaningful.”


DeMichael recently wrapped up his 12th and final year as Indiana Wesleyan’s Athletic Director, after taking over the department in 2008. During the 2019-2020 year, DeMichael saw IWU claim the Crossroads League All-Sports Championship for the 11th time under his watch.


In addition to finishing first or second in eight of the 11 sports offered by the Crossroads League during the COVID-19 shortened year, Indiana Wesleyan secured six league titles, saw every varsity program post a grade-point average over 3.0 and led the league with 44 CL Athlete-of-the-Week honors.


The Crossroads League Athletic Director-of-the-Year honor is voted on by the 10 Athletic Directors from the Crossroads League and announced each summer.


Crossroads League Athletic Director of the Year Recipients
2019-2020 – Mark DeMichael, Indiana Wesleyan

2018-2019 – Mark DeMichael, Indiana Wesleyan

2017-2018 – Josh Gleason, Goshen
2016-2017 – Chad Briscoe, Grace
2015-2016 – Mark DeMichael, Indiana Wesleyan
2014-2015 – Mark DeMichael, Indiana Wesleyan
2013-2014 – Lori Culler, Huntington
2012-2013 – Tim Demant, Goshen

2011-2012 – Mark DeMichael, Indiana Wesleyan
2010-2011 – Angie Fincannon, Taylor

2009-2010 – Chad Briscoe, Grace