CHICAGO, Ill. – Indiana University South Bend women’s basketball senior Kyleigh Kubik and freshman Maddie Gard were chosen to the second team of the All-Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference squad, the conference office announced Saturday, Feb. 29.
Kubik, a three-year player for the Titans, was selected second team for IUSB after an honorable mention selection last season. Kubik leads the conference in three-point field goal percentage (.429), while her 76 three-point field goals made this season ranks fifth-best in the CCAC. She also ranks sixth in the league in assist to turnover ratio, boasting a 2.06 this season. The Grand Valley transfer became the 17th Titan in program history to score 1000 points while donning a Titan uniform on Senior Day and currently has 1,014 total points.
In her first season with IU South Bend, Gard earned second team selection for the Titans after putting together arguably one of the greatest freshman seasons in IUSB history. She leads the conference in field goal percentage (.530), which places the Oak Creek, Wisc. native 16th-best amongst the country. Gard also ranks 15th in the conference in points per game (13.7), 10th in scoring (419), fifth in steals per game (2.36) and her 33-point performance in the CCAC Quarterfinals boasts ninth best this season.
The Titans finished the regular season at 24-6 overall and 16-6 in the CCAC, giving them the No. 4 seed in the conference tournament. IUSB needed double overtime to defeat St. Ambrose in the quarterfinals before falling at No. 6 Saint Xavier on Wednesday, Feb. 27. IU South Bend is now forced to wait till March 4 if it qualifies for an at-large bid to the NAIA DII National Tournament. The tournament will take place in Sioux City Iowa from March 11-17 at the Tyson Events Center.
2020 CCAC Postseason Awards
Player of the Year: Kaitlin Alyward – St. Francis
Freshman of the Year: Kylie Wroblewski – St. Ambrose
CCAC Newcomer of the Year: Claire Austin – Saint Xavier
First Team
Sammy Stejskal – Olivet Nazarene
Deesha Brefford – Robert Morris
Kylie Wroblewski – St. Ambrose
Chanel Fanter – Saint Xavier
Kaitlin Aylward – St. Francis
Second Team
Jalah Harris – Cardinal Stritch
Breanna Boles – Indiana Northwest
Maddie Gard – Indiana University South Bend
Kyleigh Kubik – Indiana University South Bend
Kayla Ross – Olivet Nazarene
Sierra Sanders – Robert Morris
Claire Austin – Saint Xavier
Maddie Welter – Saint Xavier
Alina Jahnke – Trinity International
Honorable Mention
Kara Shimko – Cardinal Stritch
Hydeia Thomas – Governors State
Kaelyn Barlow – Holy Cross
Zanna Myers – Olivet Nazarene
Ganette Chism – Robert Morris
Lindzy Cox – Roosevelt
Jamie Martens – St. Ambrose
Jasmine Elliott – Trinity Christian
Taylor Hibicke – Trinity International
Jordan Pyle – St. Francis