Late Andrean rally secures school’s first boys basketball state title

by | Mar 23, 2019 | Basketball Blogs, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Andrean finished the Class 2A championship game with an 11-0 run to help it pull out a 59-54 win over Linton-Stockton, capturing the school’s first state title.
Trailing, 54-48, after a basket by Linton-Stockton’s Sammy Robbins with 2:05 remaining, the 59ers began their rally on a basket by Kyle Ross, who tied for game-high scoring honors with 16 points.
After a John Carrothers basket, Nicholas Flesher stepped to the free throw line for two shots with 1:24 left. He made the first to pull Andrean within 54-53, but missed the second. Carrothers rebounded the miss and was fouled on the ensuing shot. He made the two free throws to give the 59ers (21-8) the lead for good.
Flesher added four free throws in the final :24 to clinch the victory for coach Brad Stangel’s club.
Carrothers also had 16 points for the winners, while Flesher added 12.
Tucker Hayes led the Miners with 15 points, while Kip Fougerousse and Lincoln Hale netted 11 each.
Coach Joey Hart’s Miners finished the season at 27-4.
Class 2A State Championship Records
Linton-Stockton’s Evan Slover wins the Trester Mental Attitude Award
Following the game, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee named Evan Slover of Linton-Stockton High School as the winner of the Arthur L. Trester Mental Attitude Award in Class 2A Boys Basketball.
The award is annually presented to a senior participant in the state finals who best demonstrates mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability and is nominated by his principal and coach.
Slover is a three-year All-Conference selection (2017-2019) and was a team captain for the Miners basketball team the last two seasons. Evan has achieved great success at Linton-Stockton as he holds the school record for assist/turnover ratio with a 4.22:1 statistic. He also participates on the Miners track & field team.
Academically, Slover holds a 3.615 GPA receiving honor roll distinction.
Off the court, Evan is a member of the Letterman Club and National Honor Society, he volunteers for Little Hoop Shot in his community, and he is also an active member in his local church.
Evan is the son of Brett and Cheri Slover of Linton, Ind. He plans to attend the University of Southern Indiana to become a mechanical engineer.
The 4A, 3A and 2A awards are named in honor of the late Arthur L. Trester, who served as first commissioner of the Association from 1929 to 1944. Trester helped Indiana high school sports and the IHSAA emerge from the Great Depression in a position of preeminence unmatched by perhaps any other state in the nation.
The Indiana Pacers and Indiana Fever, the presenting sponsors of the IHSAA Boys Basketball State Tournament, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Linton-Stockton High School in the name of Evan Slover. Since 1989, more than $840,000 in college scholarships have been presented to deserving high school athletes in Indiana.

Related Content

Apr 19 2024

Valpo U Football Set for 2024 Spring Game

Valpo Football Set for 2024 Spring Game The first official glimpse of the 2024 Valparaiso University football team will come on Sunday as the Beacons host their annual...
Apr 19 2024

Frickel’s Power, Trojans’ Patience Proves Pivotal in Road Sweep

Frickel’s Power, Trojans’ Patience Proves Pivotal in Road Sweep   INDIANAPOLIS – Brennan Frickel hit three home runs and the Trojans’ lineup drew 24 walks in No. 18...
Apr 18 2024

Dozen Beacons Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Dozen Beacons Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society A dozen members of the Valparaiso University football program have earned National Football Foundation Hampshire...
Apr 18 2024

Beacons Drop Twinbill to Eastern Illinois

Beacons Drop Twinbill to Eastern Illinois   Stepping out of MVC play for the first time in over five weeks, the Valpo softball team dropped both ends of a doubleheader...
Apr 16 2024

Kobayashi & Ricard take home 2024 LouisvilleSlugger/Wilson DI weekly honors

Kobayashi & Ricard take home 2024 LouisvilleSlugger/Wilson DI weekly honors LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Miami’s Kate Kobayashi and Boston University’s Kasey Ricard collected...