Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List Announced

Ten students representing conference named to list  


ROSEMONT, Ill. — Ten Big Ten students, four men and six women, have been named to the 2019 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List announced Thursday by the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) and United Soccer Coaches. The MAC Hermann Trophy is given annually to the nation’s top men’s and women’s college soccer player.

The four Big Ten men’s standouts are Indiana’s Jack Maher, Michigan’s Jack Hallahan, and Michigan State’s Giuseppe Barone and Patrick Nielsen. Hallahan and Barone were 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist.

Nebraska’s Sinclaire Miramontez, Ohio State’s Izzy Rodriguez, Penn State’s Samantha Coffey, Kaleigh Riehl and Frankie Tagliaferri, Rutgers’ Amirah Ali and Wisconsin’s Victoria Pickett are the six women representing the Big Ten. Coffey and Riehl were semifinalist for the award last season.

Since the MAC Hermann Trophy’s inception in 1967 for men’s soccer and 1988 for women, it has been awarded to a student from a current Big Ten school 14 times (12 men and two women), with the most current honoree last season in Indiana’s Andrew Gutman. Penn State’s Raquel Rodriguez last earned the award on the women’s side in 2015.

About the MAC Hermann Trophy: presented by World Wide Technology, it is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced in early January at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.