by | Jan 2, 2018 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

The 2017 portion of the schedule closed out on an average note as I posted an 18-6 (75 percent) record. Heading into the first week of 2018, my overall record is 94-36, which keeps me at 72 percent for the year.


DeKalb (5-3) at Wawasee (3-5): The Barons edged Wawasee, 57-46, a year ago. Logan Krause poured in 19 points in DeKalb’s 57-46 win over Central Noble. Austin Miller netted 12 points in the Warriors’ 34-30 loss to Saint Joseph. Matt’s pick: DeKalb 47, Wawasee 44.

Jimtown (2-5, 0-2 NIC) at Glenn (7-2, 4-0 NIC): The Jimmies eliminated Glenn, 41-37, from last season’s state tournament. Bill Pawlak managed just three points in Jimtown’s 68-41 loss at Concord. Khori Barker chipped in eight points in the Falcons’ 56-51 win at Tippecanoe Valley. Matt’s pick: Glenn 60, Jimtown 46.

Riley (9-0, 2-0 NIC) at Bremen (2-5, 0-3 NIC): The Lions dropped a 96-48 decision to top-ranked (Class 4A) Riley last season. Gabe Johnson came up with six points in the Wildcats’ 72-38 win at Plymouth. David Slos contributed four points in Bremen’s 49-48 double overtime victory over Central Noble. Matt’s pick: Riley 77, Bremen 57.


Jimtown (2-6, 0-3 NIC) at Saint Joseph (6-3, 2-1 NIC): The Indians marched past Jimtown, 45-35, a season ago. Preston Phillips tallied seven points in the Jimmies’ 67-30 loss at Glenn. Brady Powers racked up 13 points for Saint Joseph against Wawasee. Matt’s pick: Saint Joseph 62, Jimtown 43.


Elkhart Central (3-6, 1-3 NIC) at Riley (10-0, 3-0 NIC): The Wildcats needed overtime to claim a 63-59 win over Elkhart Central last season. Adrean Sims had five points in the Blazers’ 54-41 loss to Fairfield. Trevor Fortune scored 10 points in Riley’s 70-24 win over Bremen. Matt’s pick: Riley 71, Elkhart Central 56.

Goshen (3-5, 0-1 NLC) at Concord (3-5, 0-1 NLC): The RedHawks posted a 40-38 overtime victory against Concord in last season’s sectional. Philip Wertz scored 11 points in Goshen’s 57-55 loss to East Noble. Michael Johnson netted 25 points, including the game-winning basket, in Concord’s 51-49 win over Hammond Bishop Noll. Matt’s pick: Concord 46, Goshen 44.

New Prairie (4-4, 2-2 NIC) at Washington (7-2, 3-0 NIC): The Panthers slipped by New Prairie, 44-40, a year ago. Bryce Bloode came up with 12 points in the Cougars’ 71-31 victory at Boone Grove. Alex Francoeur tallied eight points in Washington’s 80-54 win over Clay. Matt’s pick: Washington 65, New Prairie 52.

NorthWood (7-2, 1-0 NIC) at Wawasee (3-6, 1-0 NLC): The Warriors suffered a 59-33 loss to NorthWood last year. Brad Delio came up with 12 points in the Panthers’ 63-42 win over Mishawaka. Trevon Coleman recorded eight points in Wawasee’s 64-54 loss to DeKalb. Matt’s pick: NorthWood 54, Wawasee 41.

Penn (5-1, 2-1 NIC) at Adams (5-6, 1-2 NIC): The Kingsmen came up on the short end of a 69-60 decision to Adams in their last meeting. Drew Lutz racked up 12 points in Penn’s 71-61 win over Elkhart Memorial. Shakell Johnson poured in 27 points in the Eagles’ 84-73 loss to No. 4 (Class 3A) Greensburg. Matt’s pick: Penn 68, Adams 64.

Plymouth (5-5, 0-1 NLC) at Elkhart Memorial (4-3, 1-0 NLC): The Chargers claimed a 53-51 win at Plymouth last season. Kadin McCrammer chipped in 15 points in the Pilgrims’ 63-52 loss to No. 1 (Class 2A) Westview. Iyan Jennings finished with eight points for Elkhart Memorial against Penn. Matt’s pick: Elkhart Memorial 55, Plymouth 53.

Triton (3-4) at Glenn (8-2): The Trojans marched their way to a 39-35 win over Glenn a season ago. Ross Johnson contributed 22 points in Triton’s 52-35 win over South Bend Trinity. Carter Yung had a career-high 14 points for Glenn against Jimtown. Matt’s pick: Glenn 61, Triton 54.

Warsaw (4-7, 0-1 NLC) at Northridge (4-3, 1-0 NLC): The Tigers clawed their way to a 36-33 win over Northridge in last year’s sectional opener. Jaylen Reese came up with seven points in Warsaw’s 43-38 win over Fishers. Jackson Erekson mustered seven points in the Raiders’ 64-50 win over Knox. Matt’s pick: Northridge 52, Warsaw 43.


Adams (5-6) at Elkhart Memorial (4-3): The Eagles soared to an 87-74 win against Elkhart Memorial last year. Sidney Jefferies netted 11 points for Adams in a 66-54 win over Indianapolis Home School. Trey Gallope had 12 points in the Chargers’ 50-49 loss at Valparaiso. Matt’s pick: Adams 62, Elkhart Memorial 59.

Angola (4-3) at Wawasee (3-6): The Hornets swarmed past Wawasee, 52-34, a year ago. Jarret Schultz scored 10 points in Angola’s 40-38 loss at Westview. Cayden Wegener finished with 10 points in the Warriors’ 52-44 win against Knox. Matt’s pick: Angola 51, Wawasee 46.

Bethany Christian (2-5) at Bremen (2-6): The Lions captured a 49-45 victory over Bethany Christian a season ago. Lucas Brownsberger-Keyes poured in 17 points in the Bruins’ 48-40 loss to Elkhart Christian. Justin Zumbrun scored just five points for Bremen against Riley. Matt’s pick: Bremen 43, Bethany Christian 40.

Niles (3-1) at Mishawaka (5-5): The Vikings edged Mishawaka, 50-49, last season. Robert Brown tallied 17 points in Niles’ 60-50 win over Kalamazoo Loy Norrix. Grant Jablonski recorded 12 points for the Cavemen in a 63-42 loss to NorthWood. Matt’s pick: Mishawaka 57, Niles 55.

Penn (5-1) at Valparaiso (6-3): The Kingsmen rallied for a 51-48 win over Valparaiso last year. Noah Applegate poured in 26 points for Penn in a 68-44 win over New Prairie. Nate Aerts managed just 10 points in the Vikings’ 62-55 loss to Zionsville. Matt’s pick:  Penn 64, Valparaiso 62.

Plymouth (5-5) at Tippecanoe Valley (2-7): The Pilgrims earned a 48-37 victory over Tippecanoe Valley a year ago. Clay Hilliard netted 26 points in Plymouth’s 68-65 loss to Lakeland. Parker Dalrymple racked up 16 points for the Vikings against Glenn. Matt’s pick: Plymouth 50, Tippecanoe Valley 47.

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...