Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Michigan State’s Breznau, Wisconsin’s Byrne Named Big Ten Cross Country Coaches of the Year
Sportsmanship Award Honorees Announced

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the first of its postseason cross country awards Wednesday afternoon. Michigan State’s Lisa Breznau was named the women’s Big Ten Coach of the Year, while Wisconsin’s Mick Byrne was tabbed the men’s Big Ten Coach of the Year, with both honors selected through a unanimous vote by the conference’s head coaches.

Breznau guided the Michigan State women’s cross country program to its eighth Big Ten Championship and its second in as many years, registering 48 points after all five of its scoring runners finished in the top 16 on January 30 at Blue River Memorial Park in Shelbyville, Ind. Breznau earns her first Big Ten Coach of the Year honor and the seventh for Michigan State.

Byrne helped Wisconsin to its 10th Big Ten title since he became the Badgers’ head coach in 2008, leading Wisconsin to the 51st Big Ten Championship in program history and third in as many years last weekend. Byrne is now a 10-time Big Ten Coach of the Year, with all 10 of those honors coming in the past 13 seasons.

Also on Wednesday, the Big Ten recognized its 26 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

The Big Ten Athletes and Freshmen of the Year will be announced following the NCAA Championships, which will be contested March 15 at the OSU Cross Country Course in Stillwater, Okla.

Men’s Coach of the Year:

Women’s Coach of the Year:

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:

Irwin Loud, Illinois
Jake Gebhardt, Indiana
Aidan King, Iowa
Jacob Branch, Michigan
Joe Riordan, Michigan State
Owen Hoeft, Minnesota
Sadio Fenner, Nebraska
Jake Wickert, Ohio State
Evan Dorenkamp, Penn State
Brody Smith, Purdue
Patrick Walsh, Rutgers

Seth Hirsch, Wisconsin

Emma Milburn, Illinois
Maddie Dalton, Indiana
Kelli Tosic, Iowa
Sarah Daniels, Maryland
Kathryn House, Michigan
Courtney Krupp, Michigan State
Tate Sweeney, Minnesota
Emma Bresser, Nebraska
Hannah Hall, Northwestern
Hannah Moulton, Ohio State
Jordan Williams, Penn State
Rachel Anderson, Purdue
Olympia Martin, Rutgers
Lexi Westley, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections listed in ALL CAPS