Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Michigan Wins 2021 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Title

Minnesota’s Shane Wiskus named Gymnast of the Championships; Michigan’s Kurt Golder selected Coach of the Year


LINCOLN, Neb. — The University of Michigan captured the 2021 Big Ten men’s gymnastics title on Saturday night, taking the crown at Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln, Neb. The Wolverines tallied 411.000 points to earn their 18th conference championship and first since 2014.


Host Nebraska finished second this year with 398.000 points, with Iowa placing third (397.700). Rounding out the field were Illinois (396.900), Penn State (396.800), Minnesota (395.950) and Ohio State (394.900).


Michigan’s Cameron Bock and Minnesota’s Shane Wiskus tied for the Big Ten all-around title with 84.700 points. It’s the first time since 1957, and just the second time in Big Ten Championships history there has been a tie for first in the all-around competition. Bock earns his second consecutive Big Ten all-around title, while Wiskus is the first Golden Gopher to finish first in the all-around since 1993, when John Roethlisberger won the last of his four consecutive titles.


Wiskus, who was selected as Big Ten Gymnast of the Championships following Saturday’s meet, earned three other individual event titles this year, prevailing on the floor exercise (14.750), parallel bars (14.400) and high bar (14.050). Wiskus is the first Big Ten gymnast to win four event titles (including the all-around) at the Big Ten Championships since 2000, when Michigan’s Scott Vetere won the all-around, pommel horse, rings and shared the title on vault.


Bock added two individual event crowns, taking top honors on the pommel horse (14.350) and rings (14.000). Illinois’ Michael Fletcher was the other individual event champion, winning the vault competition (14.600).


Eighteen gymnasts earned All-Big Ten honors by virtue of their performances at Saturday’s meet, including four from Iowa and three each from Illinois, Michigan and Nebraska.


Along with Wiskus being selected as the Big Ten Gymnast of the Championships, Michigan’s Kurt Golder was chosen Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second year in a row and sixth time in his career.


Earlier this week, Michigan’s Paul Juda was named the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year, while Nebraska’s Taylor Christopulos earned Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors.


The 2021 Big Ten men’s gymnastics individual award recipients and all-conference honorees can be found below.




Gymnast of the Year: Paul Juda, So., MICH

Gymnast of the Championships: Shane Wiskus, Sr., MINN

Freshman of the Year: Taylor Christopulos, NEB

Coach of the Year: Kurt Golder, MICH



Michael Fletcher, ILL

Bennet Huang, IOWA

Cameron Bock, MICH

Paul Juda, MICH

Shane Wiskus, MINN

Jesse Tyndall, OSU

Michael Jaroh, PSU



Connor McCool, ILL

Ian Skirkey, ILL

Stewart Brown, IOWA

Evan Davis, IOWA

Peyton Hobson, IOWA

Evgeny Siminiuc, MICH

Crew Bold, MINN

Taylor Christopulos, NEB

Charlie Giles, NEB

Sam Phillips, NEB

Nick Mock, PSU