Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Michigan Wins 2021 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships

Wolverines win their second consecutive title

2021 Championship Results (PDF)


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Michigan men’s swimming & diving team earned the program’s 42nd conference title and second in as many years on Saturday night at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio.

The Wolverines finished the five-day event with 1,401 points, while Indiana followed with 1,357 points, just edging out host Ohio State (1,322). Purdue claimed fourth place (732) and Wisconsin finished fifth (729).

Following the conclusion of the meet on Saturday night, Indiana’s Brendan Burns was selected as the Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships, Indiana’s Andrew Capobianco and Ohio State’s Joey Canova were voted the Big Ten Co-Divers of the Championships and Michigan’s Jacob Mitchell was chosen the Big Ten Freshman of the Year following a vote by the conference coaches.

The complete list of individual award recipients, all-conference honorees and Sportsmanship Award selections are listed below.


Big Ten Swimmer of the Championships

Brendan Burns, Indiana

Co-Big Ten Diver of the Championships

Andrew Capobianco, Indiana

Joey Canova, Ohio State

Big Ten Freshman of the Year

Jacob Mitchell, Michigan


First Team

Andrew Capobianco, Indiana

James Brinegar, Indiana

Brandon Hamblin, Indiana

Brendan Burns, Indiana

Gabriel Fantoni, Indiana

Jack Franzman, Indiana

Tomer Frankel, Indiana

Van Mathias, Indiana

Zane Backes, Indiana

Daniel Berlitz, Michigan

Jacob Mitchell, Michigan

Kevin Callan, Michigan

Luiz Gutavo Borges, Michigan

River Wright, Michigan

Will Chan, Michigan

Wyatt Davis, Michigan

Max McHugh, Minnesota

Joey Canova, Ohio State

Paul DeLakis, Ohio State

Sem Andreis, Ohio State

Michael Daly, Penn State

Brandon Loschiavo, Purdue

Second Team

Mory Gould, Indiana

Corey Gambardella, Indiana

Colin McDermott, Ohio State

Hudson McDaniel, Ohio State

Justin Fleagle, Ohio State

Hunter Armstrong, Ohio State

Shaw Satterfield, Ohio State

Thomas Watkins, Ohio State

Lyle Yost, Ohio State

Jacob Siler, Ohio State

Nikola Aćin, Purdue

Ryan Hrosik, Purdue

Nicholas Sherman, Purdue

Ryan Lawrence, Purdue


Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Gary Kostbade, Indiana

Anze Fers Erzen, Iowa

Will Roberts, Michigan

Travis Nitkiewicz, Michigan State

Eitan Yudashkin, Minnesota

DJ Hwang, Northwestern

Carson Burt, Ohio State

Jacob Deckman, Penn State

Trent Pellini, Purdue

Josh Dannhauser, Wisconsin