Minnesota Wins Big Ten Softball Tournament Championship

by | May 15, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Minnesota Wins Big Ten Softball Tournament Championship

Golden Gophers earn third title in four years and Big Ten’s automatic berth to NCAA Tournament

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The top-seeded Minnesota softball team won its second straight Big Ten Tournament Championship, third in four years and fourth in school history on Saturday with a 6-0 win over No. 3 seed Ohio State in the title game at the Wilpon Complex/Alumni Field in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

The Golden Gophers (54-3) took a 3-0 lead in the fifth inning on Sydney Dwyer’s two-run home run to left field and Sam Macken’s bases-loaded walk. Macken then helped Minnesota double its lead in the seventh with a two-run double before scoring her team’s final run on Makenna Partain’s infield single.

Sara Groenewegen earned her third win in as many outings at the 2017 Big Ten Tournament, tossing a two-hit shutout and striking out 12 batters. Groenewegen was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player after allowing just one run and two hits with 24 strikeouts and two walks in her three appearances, including two complete-game wins and the first no-hitter in tournament history (a 5-1 win over Northwestern in the quarterfinals on Friday).

With the victory, Minnesota earns the Big Ten’s automatic berth into this year’s NCAA Tournament, with the complete 64-team NCAA field revealed at 10 p.m. (ET) Sunday live on ESPN2.

The 2017 Big Ten All-Tournament Team was as follows:

Most Outstanding Player: Sara Groenewegen, Minnesota

All-Tournament Team

Stephanie Abello, Illinois

Alyssa Gunther, Illinois

Sydney Dwyer, Minnesota

Sara Groenewegen, Minnesota

Kendyl Lindaman, Minnesota

Lea Foerster, Michigan State

Kaitlyn Eveland, Michigan State

Emily Clark, Ohio State

Shelby Hursh, Ohio State

Lilli Piper, Ohio State

Rebecca Ziegler, Penn State

Kaitlyn Menz, Wisconsin

Related Content

Feb 25 2024


SENSATIONAL SEVEN Riley (20-4): Payton Baird poured in 26 points in the Wildcats’ 72-37 win over Bowman Academy. Northridge (18-5): Despite 14 points and 12 rebounds...
Feb 25 2024

2023-24 IBCA Boys’ Basketball Top 20 Poll – February 25, 2024

1 Fishers (20)                    438 22-1 2 Noblesville                     407 20-2 3 Westfield                        394 19-2 4 Kokomo                           364...
Feb 25 2024

No. 1 Grace MBB Wins Crossroads League Title On Senior Day

Lancers celebrate Senior Day in style WINONA LAKE, Ind. - Grace’s men’s basketball game on Saturday had the feel of a coronation. The Lancers rolled Mt. Vernon Nazarene...
Feb 25 2024

Lake Central falls to Lawrence Central in 4A state title game 55-28

INDIANAPOLIS - One thing you have to say about the now first-time Class 4A state champion Lawrence Central Bears is they never flinch. That became very apparent midway...
Feb 24 2024

Marian wins Crossroads League Women’s Title

INDIANAPOLIS - In front of a packed house on the final day of the regular season Saturday afternoon, the Marian women's basketball team put a stamp on their 2024...