by | May 15, 2018 | RRSN News | 0 comments



Knightstown’s Historic Hoosier Gym, movie home of the “Hoosiers” Hickory Huskers, is again the site of the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic. The 13th annual girls’ / boys’ doubleheader classic will take place on Friday, June 1, 2018. The girls’ game starts at 6:00 p.m. The boys’ game follows at 8:00 p.m. The boys’ coaches are Daniel Cox of New Castle and Jerry Hoover of Blackford. Coaching the girls’ teams are Julie Shelton, Mt. Vernon (Fortville) and Tod Windlan.


The evening is highlighted by 2018 Indiana Miss Basketball Amy Dilk (17.8 ppg) of Carmel who will attend the University of Michigan. There are nine other girls who will participate on June 1st that were also selected as 2018 Indiana All-Stars— Angel Baker (21.7), Pike (Wright State) • Mackenzie Blazek (18.4), Whiteland (Illinois) • Nia Clark (16.2), Ben Davis (Miami, OH) • Katlyn Gilbert (18.5), Heritage Christian (Notre Dame) • Cassidy Hardin (17.3), Center Grove (Purdue) • Emily Kiser (21.1), Noblesville (Michigan) • Tomi Taiwo (16.4), Carmel (Iowa) • Kayana Traylor (21.4), Martinsville (Purdue) • Michaela White (15), Pike (Indiana State).


There are four other players who are committed to NCAA Division I Universities. They are Breanna Boles, Lapel (Indiana State) • Courtney Krol, Chesterton (DePaul) • Blake Smith, Carmel (Ball State) and Asia Strong, South Bend Riley (Bradley). The Girls’ game also features an IHSAA State Champion— Rachel Stewart of 2017 AA Champion Eastern (Pekin)— along with two others that were state finalist— Kyra Whitaker of 2018 AAA Runner-up Greensburg and Cali Nolot of 2017 AAA Runner-up North Harrison.


The Boys’ game, the second of this Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic doubleheader, features two future Indiana Hoosiers— Damezi Anderson (19.1 ppg), South Bend Riley and Robert Phinisee (29.4), McCutcheon. They are joined by a half dozen more 2018 Indiana All-Stars— Gavin Bizeau (22), Plainfield (Duquesne) • Jarron Coleman (17.2), Indianapolis Cathedral (Ball State) • Kevin Easley (19), Lawrence North (Tennessee Chattanooga) • Mekhi Lairy (26.2), Evansville Bosse (Miami, OH) • De’Avion Washington (20.7), Terre Haute South (Indiana State) and Dean Tate of 2018 AAAA State Champion Warren Central.


Five more boys are headed to NCAA Division I Colleges. Two were members of 2017 IHSAA State Champion teams— Jamal Harris of AAA Indianapolis Crispus Attucks (New Orleans) and Landon Weins of AA Frankton (Morehead State). The other three are Deandre Gholston, Gary 21st Century (Kent State), Jack Hansen Guerin Catholic (IUPUI) and Myja White, Brebeuf Jesuit (Miami, OH).


Along with Tate, three others were 2018 IHSAA State Champions— Caleb Middlesworth of AA Oak Hill plus Hayden Langkabel and Eli Streeval of Class A Morristown. Cole Jenkins was a 2018 AAAA Runner-up with Carmel.

Coordinating this event are Kip Wesner, Publisher of Hoosier Basketball Magazine and Bob Garner, Events Coordinator of the Historic Hoosier Gym in Knightstown.

All four team rosters— girls’ and boys’ Hickory Huskers and Terhune Tigers girls and boys— will be announced later this month. A listing of the players who have confirmed to participate is attached.

Related Content

Apr 11 2024

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Dr. James Malayter

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Dr. James Malayter The Valpo Athletics family is saddened by the passing of Dr. James “Jim” Malayter ’66, who was a fixture at...
Apr 11 2024

VU Softball Falls to Flames Wednesday

VU Softball Falls to Flames Wednesday  The Valpo softball team concluded an eight-game homestand at the Valpo Softball Complex on Wednesday afternoon, falling to...
Apr 07 2024

Taylor softball rolls past Bethel

UPLAND, Ind. --- The Bethel Pilots (8-25, 4-16) fell to Taylor University (19-13, 11-7) 9-1 and 3-0 in a Crossroads League matchup. GAME 1 Bethel scored first in the...
Apr 06 2024

Spring Arbor sweeps Bethel softball

MISHAWAKA, Ind. --- The Bethel Pilots (8-23, 4-14) battled the Spring Arbor Cougars (20-11, 12-6) and maintained a two-and-under run differential in Friday's...
Apr 04 2024

IU’s Holmes and Scalia To Participate in Women’s College All-Star Game  CLEVELAND – Indiana’s Mackenzie Holmes and Sara Scalia will participate in the 2024 Women’s...