NAIA DII Men’s Basketball All-America Teams Announced – NAIA – National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics 4

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2018 NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball All-America Teams Thursday. Cornerstone’s (Mich.) Kyle Steigenga headlines the award winners as the 2018 NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball National Player of the Year.

Players were chosen by the Division II Men’s Basketball All-America Committee. There are three teams of 10 individuals each that make up the 2018 All-Americans.

Steigenga, a native of Holland, Mich., is the first player in Cornerstone men’s basketball history to earn this distinction. The four-time first team All-American led the Golden Eagles to a 30-5 record, including a 19-1 mark in the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference en route to the team’s 10th conference title and a 14th national championship appearance. Cornerstone, which won the national title in Steigenga’s freshman campaign, reached the quarterfinals at the 2018 national championship before losing to eventual national runner-up Saint Francis (Ind.).

On the season, Steigenga tallied 727 points (20.8 points per game), 298 rebounds and shot 59.9 percent from the field. The senior’s point total ranked seventh nationally. Steigenga concluded a decorated career with 3,023 points and 1,201 rebounds – both of which rank among the top two totals in program history.

Overall, there are five individuals back from one of the three 2017 All-America Teams. Colton Kooima of Northwestern (Iowa) and Steigenga are the only individuals to repeat on the first team.

Following the conclusion of the national championship title game, Greg Tonagel of Indiana Wesleyan was named the 2017-18 NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year. Tonagel led the Wildcats to their third national title – the other two coming in 2014 and 2016 – and a 31-7 overall record. He was also named the NABC-NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year.

For more information on NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball, click here.

National Player of the Year: Kyle Steigenga, Cornerstone (Mich.)

2018 NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball All-Americans

First Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Kyle Steigenga* Cornerstone (Mich.) F Sr. Holland, Mich.
Colton Kooima* Northwestern (Iowa) G Sr. Sioux Falls, S.D.
Aziz Leeks College of Idaho F Sr. Las Vegas, Nev.
Bryce Lienhoop% Saint Francis (Ind.) F Sr. Columbus, Ind.
Kyle Mangas Indiana Wesleyan G Fr. Warsaw, Ind.
Deion McClenton Keiser (Fla.) F Sr. Columbus, Ga.
Jordan Murdock Friends (Kan.) F Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Jason Spicer Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) F Sr. Sioux Falls, S.D.
Trenton Thompson Asbury (Ky.) F Jr. Cynthiana, Ky.
Nathan Wedel Northwestern (Iowa) G Sr. Yale, S.D.
Second Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Darren Groves Indiana Tech F Jr. Dayton, Ohio
Lucas Huffman IU East (Ind.) F Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Cameron Hunt Southwestern (Kan.) G Jr. Duncanville, Texas
Jaime Johnson IU Southeast (Ind.) G So. Louisville, Ky.
Jalen Miller Governors State (Ill.) F Grad Student Riverdale, Ill.
Gage Ott Bethel (Ind.) F Sr. LaPorte, Ind.
BJ Shelton^ Bellevue (Neb.) G Sr. Bakersfield, Calif.
Wes Stowers Marian (Ind.) G Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Sam Vander Sluis Cornerstone (Mich.) F Jr. Holland, Mich.
Blake Walsman Cincinnati Christian (Ohio) F Jr. Batesville, Ind.
Third Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Arsenio Arrington Aquinas (Mich.) F Sr. Chicago, Ill.
Ryan Atkins Southeastern (Fla.) G Sr. Miami, Fla.
Tyler Borchers Morningside (Iowa) F So. Le Mars, Iowa
Raheem Bowman St. Thomas (Fla.) C Sr. Chester, Pa.
Erich Erdman% Briar Cliff (Iowa) G Jr. Forest City, Iowa
Mitchell Fink Oregon Tech G So. Clackamas, Ore.
Ty Hoglund Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G So. Dell Rapids, S.D.
Paul Marandet Spring Arbor (Mich.) G So. Warsaw, Ind.
Max McCullough Eastern Oregon G So. Post Falls, Idaho
Brandon Moore Allen (S.C.) C So. Sylvester, Ga.
* 2017 First Team All-American
^2017 Second Team All-American
%2017 Third Team All-American
Honorable Mention
Name Institution
Sheldon Blackwell Antelope Valley (Calif.)
Jay Wolfe Briar Cliff (Iowa)
Devin Harrison Calumet (Ind.)
Haylen Washington Coastal Georgia
Roosevelt Adams College of Idaho
Michael Bradshaw Cornerstone (Mich.)
Marcus White Dickinson State (N.D.)
Mike Bush Huntington (Ind.)
Dylan Phair Indiana Tech
Joe Jackson IU Southeast (Ind.)
Evan Maxwell Indiana Wesleyan
Leighton Sampson Jamestown (N.D.)
Aaron Bachura McPherson (Kan.)
Jason Penn Michigan-Dearborn
Ryan Williams Midland (Neb.)
Aaron Levarity Milligan (Tenn.)
Brody Egger Morningside (Iowa)
Alex Borchers Morningside (Iowa)
Michael Loomis Northwest Christian (Ore.)
KJ Malveau Oklahoma Wesleyan
Issac Rowe Oklahoma Wesleyan
Nic Reed Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Will Hill Rio Grande (Ohio)
Justin Nafso Rochester (Mich.)
Jake Ludwig Roosevelt (Ill.)
Derek Hinen Saint Francis (Ind.)
Quinn Neigo Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Rafael Adams Stillman (Ala.)
Julian Winton Tabor (Kan.)
O’Shae Williams Trinity International (Ill.)
KJ Duronslet Union (Ky.)
Demetrius Cady Saint Mary (Kan.)
Jayden Ferguson Valley City State (N.D.)
Melton Sanders Warner (Fla.)
Xavier Cannefax Warner Pacific (Ore.)
Collin Malcolm Warner Pacific (Ore.)
Michael Scott WVU Tech (W.Va.)