Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

National Football Foundation News and Notes

by | Dec 8, 2020 | Featured, Football Blogs | 0 comments

College Football Hall of Fame Coach Lou Holtz received the Presidential Medal of Freedom during a ceremony in the Oval Office last week. (ESPN)

2008 Campbell Trophy® recipient Alex Mack (California) and NFF National Scholar-Athletes Derek Carr (Fresno State – 2013) and Ryan Tannehill (Texas A&M – 2011) are among the 32 NFL players nominated for the seventh annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. (NFL)

2019 Campbell Trophy® recipient Justin Herbert (Oregon), now the starting quarterback for the Los Angeles Chargers, was named the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Month for the second month in a row. (Chargers)

The Ohio Athletic Conference has announced that its annual football coach of the year award will now be named in honor of College Football Hall of Famer Larry Kehres. (Mount Union [OH] Athletics)

2009 Campbell Trophy® recipient Tim Tebow (Florida) will continue his baseball career with the New York Mets organization in 2021. (Sporting News)

Playfly Sports, the full-service sports marketing company, named NFF Board Member and seasoned collegiate sports industry leader Gene DeFilippo as an Executive Market Strategist. (Playfly Sports)

2020 Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda – Finalist Updates

Texas QB Sam Ehlinger completed 20-of-27 passes for 274 yards and two touchdowns in a 69-31 win over Kansas State. It was his 36th career game with 200-plus passing yards, bringing him within two of tying NFF National Scholar-Athlete Colt McCoy’s school record. With two total TDs, Ehlinger is now responsible for 126 touchdowns (93 pass/33 rush) in his career, bringing him into a tie for fourth in Big 12 history and second in school history. He also made his 42nd career start, the second-most starts by a quarterback in Texas history. Ehlinger was named as a semifinalist for the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award and the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy, and he was selected as a top 10 candidate for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The AP No. 23 Longhorns will close out the regular season at Kansas on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

With the NCAA granting an extra year of eligibility to all fall athletes, Abilene Christian linebacker Jack Gibbens announced he will grad transfer and play one more season at Minnesota.

DE Tyriq Harris had four tackles and forced a fumble in Charlotte’s loss to Western Kentucky. He was also named as semifinalist for the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy for outstanding community service. The 49ers will end their season on Friday at Marshall at 6:30 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.

After their game was canceled over the weekend, Boise State and DB Kekaula Kaniho will close out the regular season at Wyoming on Saturday at 6 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network. The Broncos (4-1, 4-0 in conference) have their sights on playing in the Mountain West Conference championship.

OL Brandon Kennedy missed Tennessee’s loss to Florida, breaking his streak of 20 consecutive starts. Following the game, The Vols held a commencement ceremony for their 15 graduating players, including Kennedy who earned his second master’s degree this fall. Tennessee will play at Vanderbilt on Saturday at 4 pm. ET on the SEC Network.

After a loss to Tulsa on Senior Day, Navy and CB Cameron Kinley will conclude their season on Saturday in the Army-Navy Game, played this year on Army’s campus. The game will kick off at 3:30 p.m. ET on CBS.

DB Elijah Molden notched eight tackles in Washington’s loss to Stanford. Celebrated on Senior Day, he also continued his streak of playing in every game over the last four years. He has now played in 44 games. Molden and the Huskies (3-1) will close out the regular season Saturday at Oregon with the Pac-12 North Division title on the line. The game will kick off at 4 p.m. ET on FOX.

QB Brady White completed 19 passes for 248 yards and two TDs in Memphis’ loss to Tulane. He increased his career passing yard output to 10,160, making him just the second Memphis QB to reach the 10,000-yard mark in program history and putting him 56 passing yards away from the Memphis record. His 26 passing TDs this season are second in the American and tied for fifth nationally. White was named a semifinalist for the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy for outstanding community service while being named to the Davey O’Brien Award’s Quarterback Class of 2020. He was also invited to the 2021 East-West Shrine Bowl. The Tigers (6-3) will close out the regular season on Saturday when they host Houston at Noon ET on ESPN+.

At the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta

Dec. 3 – Jan. 3, Deck The Hall: Deck the Hall is in full swing with bright holiday decorations and cheer, appearances from Fumbles the Elf and our must see college football experience!

College Football & HBCUs – Their Story: This limited engagement special exhibit features an inspiring collection of stories, artifacts and college football treasures from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

Post University (CT) has announced the transition of its sprint football team to an NCAA Division II football team as of Fall 2021. (Post Athletics)

The SEC has announced the football schedule for the final two weeks of the 2020 season, Dec. 12 and Dec. 19. (FBSchedules)

The ACC announced football schedule changes and adjustments to Medical Advisory Group Report. (ACC)

Assumption (MA) announced that its multi-sport stadium has been named for the Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly in recognition of his storied contributions to build the university’s football program in the 1980s and steadfast support, including a generous challenge grant he has issued to alumni and friends of the institution. (Assumption University)

Former Vanderbilt football player Mike Dawson passed away Nov. 16. He was 75… Former Eastern Washington football player Raphael Guillory passed away Nov. 29. He was 49… Lonnie Sadler, Vanderbilt’s first Black football captain, passed away Dec. 1. He was 67… Marv Marinovich, who captained Southern California’s national championship football team in 1962, passed away Dec. 3. He was 81… Steve Solari, a member of Texas A&M’s Wrecking Crew defense from 1991-93, passed away. He was 49…