Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Nebraska Wins 2019 Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track & Field Championships

Huskers earn third title in five years in closest finish since 2003


ANN ARBOR, Mich. – The Nebraska men’s indoor track & field team picked up four points in the final event to come from behind and win the 2019 Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at the U-M Indoor Track Building in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Huskers earned their third Big Ten indoor title in five years (also winning in 2015 and 2016) with a 93-91 victory over runner-up Indiana in the closest Big Ten men’s indoor finish since 2003, when Wisconsin also edged Minnesota by two points (133.5-131.5).

Wisconsin finished in third place with 71 points, just ahead of Iowa and Purdue, who tied for fourth place with 70 points.

The Huskers also collected a pair of individual titles during the meet, both in field events on Friday night. Freshman Mayson Conner won the high jump with a top clearance of 2.23 meters (7-3.75) while senior Elijah Lucy took the crown in the long jump at 7.67 meters (25-2).

The Big Ten Track Athlete of the Championships, Field Athlete of the Championships, Coach of the Year and Sportsmanship Award honorees will be announced on Tuesday (Feb. 26). The Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year, Field Athlete of the Year and Freshman of the Year will be announced March 12, following the NCAA Indoor Championships in Birmingham, Alabama.

BTN will debut coverage of this weekend’s Big Ten Indoor Track & Field Championships at 5:30 p.m. ET Tuesday. That coverage will also be available on the FOX Sports app and BTN’s digital extension, BTN2Go.

The following are this year’s All-Big Ten Men’s Indoor Track & Field honorees:

First Team

Eric Bethea, Indiana

Adam Coulon, Indiana

Ben Veatch, Indiana

Mar’yea Harris, Iowa

Collin Hofacker, Iowa

Jaylan McConico, Iowa

Chris Thompson, Iowa

Antonio Woodard, Iowa

Joe Ellis, Michigan

Andrew Liskowitz, Michigan

Nick Guerrant, Michigan State

Mayson Conner, Nebraska

Elijah Lucy, Nebraska

Nick Gray, Ohio State

Frank Hayes, Ohio State

Domenic Perretta, Penn State

Izaiah Brown, Rutgers

Ryan Dundun, Wisconsin

Olin Hacker, Wisconsin

Oliver Hoare, Wisconsin

Morgan McDonald, Wisconsin

Austin Rendon, Wisconsin

Second Team

Kyle Mau, Indiana

Cooper Williams, Indiana

Karayme Bartley, Iowa

Morgan Beadlescomb, Michigan State

Noah Burton, Michigan State

Justine Kiprotich, Michigan State

Jalen Smith, Michigan State

Miles Griffith, Nebraska

Jared Seay, Nebraska

Luke Siedhoff, Nebraska

Andre Jeff, Ohio State

Tyler Johnson, Ohio State

DaJuan Seward, Ohio State

Morgan Shigo, Penn State

Jalil Brewer, Purdue

Brian Faust, Purdue

Tamar Greene, Purdue

Waseem Williams, Purdue

Rashid Coulibaly, Wisconsin