New Sectional Assignments Approved by IHSAA Executive Committee

by | May 1, 2017 | Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

May 1, 2017

Earlier today, the IHSAA Executive Committee approved the sectional assignments in six team sports for the next two school years.

Following adjustments made in volleyball, girls basketball and boys basketball, the Executive Committee accepted the recommendations of the respective realignment committees which determined the sectional groups for the 2017‐18 and 2018‐19 school years.

In each of the three above listed sports, Wood Memorial was moved from Class A, Sectional 63 to 64 and Orleans was moved from Class A, Sectional 64 to 63. Also, LaPorte was moved from Class 4A, Sectional 2 to 3 in volleyball only to be consistent with their placement in the other two sports.

Three committees consisting of school administrators representing each IHSAA district and class were constructed to realign the sports. The football committee totaled 18 administrators, the basketball and volleyball committee was made up of 12 members and the soccer committee consisted of nine individuals. The baseball and softball realignment committee will meet this summer after both state tournaments conclude in June with their sectional recommendations being presented to the Executive Committee for approval at its August meeting.

Boys Basketball Sectionals | Girls Basketball Sectionals | Football Sectionals

Boys Soccer Sectionals | Girls Soccer Sectionals | Volleyball Sectionals

Classifications with enrollments for each school were announced on March 29

The members of each realignment committee are listed below:

Football Realignment Committee

Chairpersons Commissioner Bobby Cox & Assistant Commissioner Robert Faulkens

Class 1A District I Will Hostrawser, Athletic Director, LaVille High School

District II Jeff Hettinger, Athletic Director, Frontier High School

District III Richard Lance, Assistant Principal, Castle High School

Class 2A District I Kenneth Hickman, Athletic Director, Rensselaer Central High School

District II Ryan Fagan, Athletic Director, Oak Hill High School

District III David Todd, Athletic Director, Switzerland County High School

Class 3A District I Jeff Ziegler, Principal, Jimtown High School

District II Bryce Barton, Athletic Director, Crawfordsville High School

District III Brian Lewis, Athletic Director, Monrovia High School

Class 4A District I Patti McCormack, Athletic Director, Lowell High School

District II Brandon Ecker, Athletic Director, Mt. Vernon High School

District III Mike Whitten, Principal, Boonville High School

Class 5A District I Dave Preheim, Athletic Director, Concord High School

District II Torrey Rodkey, Athletic Director, Plainfield High School

District III Paul Neidig, Chief of Staff, Evansville Vanderburgh Schools

Class 6A District I   Park Ginder, Principal, Homestead High School

District II Jim Brown, Athletic Director, Fishers High School

District III David Clark, Principal, Columbus North High School

Basketball and Volleyball Realignment Committee

Chairpersons Assistant Commissioner Phil Gardner, Assistant Commissioner Kerrie Schludecker and Assistant Commissioner Sandra Walter

Class 1A District I Brett Berndt, Principal, Culver Community High School

District II Ryan Luce, Athletic Director, Rockville High School

District III Jeff Doyle, Principal, Barr‐Reeve High School

Class 2A District I Bruce Jennings, Principal, Bremen High School

District II Brian Avery, Athletic Director, Speedway High School

District III Tim Grove, Superintendent, South Knox School Corporation

Class 3A District I Tom Schemerhorn, Athletic Director, West Noble High School

District II Steve Edwards, Principal, Frankfort High School

District III Kevin Davis, Athletic Director, Boonville High School

Class 4A District I Brian Strong, Athletic Director, Logansport

District II Victor Bush, Behavioral Specialist, MSD Lawrence Township

District III Mike Broughton, Athletic Director, Jennings County High School

Soccer Realignment Committee

Chairperson Assistant Commissioner Sandra Walter

Class 1A District I Hank Willems, Principal, Bethany Christian High School

District II Scott Stevens, Athletic Director, Cascade High School

District III Noel Bostic, Principal, Rising Sun High School

Class 2A District I Don Gandy, Principal, Wheeler High School

District II Jon Regashus, Athletic Director, Danville High School

District III Ric Manns, Principal, Scottsburg High School

Class 3A District I Stacy Adams, Athletic Director, Griffith High School

District II Brad Holsinger, Athletic Director, Avon High School

District III Robin Smith, Principal, Terre Haute North Vigo High School

** IHSAA Executive Committee Chairwoman Debb Stevens sits on all realignment committees ex-officio.

Related Content

Jun 16 2024

Bases-Loaded Walk Lifts Lake Central in 12-Inning Marathon

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - It took a while – 12 innings in 3 hours and 46 minutes, to be exact, as the longest game by innings in IHSAA State...
Jun 16 2024

Gavin Jackson throws first no-hitter, Providence takes 2A crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Providence’s Gavin Jackson took the mound for the bottom of the seventh inning on Saturday completely oblivious....
Jun 15 2024

New Prairie’s big fourth inning secures first state title

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - Down to his final strike with two outs in the fourth inning, New Prairie sophomore Reed Robinson laced a two-run single...
Jun 15 2024

Barr-Reeve “finished the job”, wins first baseball crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Third time was the charm for the top-ranked Barr-Reeve Vikings on Friday night at Victory Field in downtown...
Jun 11 2024

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15 The Valparaiso University Department of Athletics is...