NFCA announces 667 student-athletes receive 2017 Division I All-Region honors

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The National Fastpitch Coaches Association has announced that 667 student-athletes from 175 programs have received 2017 NFCA Division I All-Region accolades.


The awards honor softball student-athletes from the Association’s 10 regions with first, second and third team selections. NFCA member coaches from each respective region voted on the teams, and all the honorees now become eligible for selection to the 2017 NFCA Division I All-American squads.

No. 5 Arizona (West) and No. 11 James Madison (Northeast) were the only programs to have all eight of their nominations gain recognition with the Dukes claiming seven on the first team. No. 1 Minnesota (Great Lakes), No. 2 Florida (Southeast), No. 3 Oregon (Pacific) and No. 6 Oklahoma took home seven accolades apiece. Earning six nods were No. 4 Florida State (Southeast), Fordham (Mid-Atlantic), No. 7 Washington (Pacific), No. 12 Texas A&M (South) and San Diego State (West).

The Dukes led all programs with their seven first-team plaudits, while the Wildcats grabbed six. The Ducks and No. 20 Michigan Wolverines boasted five first-team honors, while the Gophers, Gators and Seminoles garnered four apiece.

Marshall and Illinois State paved the way in the Mideast with four accolades with the Herd earned three first-team selections. Big Ten foes Ohio State and Illinois each had five student-athletes recognized in the Midwest. The Illini totaled three first-team plaudits.

Conference’s players and pitcher of the year are added to the third team if they were not already selected to an All-Region team.

The 2017 NFCA Division I All-America teams will be announced at approximately 5 p.m. EDT on Wednesday, May 31, via