Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Northwestern Wins Second Big Ten West Division Title in Three Years

by | Dec 5, 2020 | Football Blogs, Headlines | 0 comments

Northwestern Wins Second Big Ten West Division Title in Three Years

EVANSTON, Ill. — Champions. Again.

Northwestern (5-1) earned its second Big Ten West Division championship in three seasons and clinched a berth in the 2020 Big Ten Football Championship Game in Indianapolis on Saturday, Dec. 19, the Conference announced Saturday.

The Wildcats, ranked No. 14 in the latest College Football Playoff rankings, will become just the fourth program in Conference history to make multiple appearances in the Big Ten Football Championship Game.

After opening the 2020 season with a 43-3 win over Maryland, Northwestern reeled off four consecutive victories against West Division foes – No. 19 Iowa, Nebraska, Purdue, No. 16 Wisconsin – and own the West’s only unblemished record. The Wildcats also won the 2018 West crown with a perfect 6-0 mark in the division.


NU’s Week 7 matchup at Minnesota was canceled due to the Gophers extending their pause on team activities. Northwestern is scheduled to close out the regular season on Saturday, Dec. 12, at Ryan Field, when it looks to claim its sixth consecutive Land of Lincoln Trophy vs. Illinois.


The 2020 Big Ten Football Championship Game will be played at 11 a.m. CT on Saturday, Dec. 19, at Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium and will be televised nationally on FOX. The winner will earn the Amos Alonzo Stagg Championship Trophy and a chance to play in one of the six bowls that comprise the College Football Playoff, including the Rose Bowl Game. The representative from the East Division will be determined next weekend. The Big Ten Conference has not yet determined if any tickets will be sold for the game. Information regarding tickets is expected next week and will be communicated accordingly.