Northwestern’s Will Greer Wins Big Ten’s 2018 William R. Reed Award

Award is presented to a student journalist from one of the Big Ten campuses

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Will Greer from Northwestern University has been named the 2018 recipient of the Big Ten Conference's William R. Reed Memorial Award. This annual award is named in honor of former Big Ten Commissioner William R. Reed and is presented to a student journalist from one of the Big Ten campuses who, through his or her coverage during the previous academic term, best exemplifies the spirit, ideals and dedication to the conference and intercollegiate athletics which marked Reed's life.

A journalism major, Greer handled a multitude of roles in Evanston and becomes the first broadcasting-based journalist to win the Reed Award. Greer has worked as a broadcaster and crew member for BTN StudentU since 2014. He has also held various roles at WNUR Sports over the last four years, serving as Director in his senior year. Greer has also spent time as an Executive Producer for Northwestern News Network (NNN) Sports, working four years for the outlet.

Additionally, Greer has worked as a reporter at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and Richmond Times-Dispatch. He has served as a broadcaster and reporter for the Harwich Mariners and Cotuit Kettleers in the Cape Cod Baseball League over the past two summers. A native of Richmond, Virginia, Greer has been named to the Dean’s List seven times at Northwestern, holding a 3.69 GPA.

Reed served the conference for more than 20 years and began his tenure with the Big Ten in the service bureau in 1939. Promoted to assistant commissioner in 1951, he served in that capacity until being named the third Big Ten Conference commissioner in 1961. His term as commissioner lasted until 1971.

William R. Reed Award Winners
2000 – Mitch Nelles, Wisconsin
2001 – Krista Latham, Michigan State
2002 – Chris Korman, Penn State
2003 – Doug Elish, Purdue
2004 – Brandon Gullicksrud, Wisconsin
2005 – Jenny Vrentas, Penn State
2006 – Courtney Linehan, Illinois
2007 – Tom Keller, Michigan State
2008 – Tyler Mason, Wisconsin
2009 – Trevor Born, Minnesota
2010 – Courtney Ratkowiak, Michigan
2011 – Nicole Auerbach, Michigan
2012 – Stephen Nesbitt, Michigan
2013 – Megan Ryan, Minnesota
2014 – Zach Tegler, Nebraska
2015 – Henry Bushnell, Northwestern
2016 – Jake Lourim, Michigan
2017 – Callie Caplan, Maryland
2018 – Will Greer, Northwestern