NU: School-Record 18 Programs with B1G Distinguished Scholar Recipients

by | Jul 5, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

NU: School-Record 18 Programs with B1G Distinguished Scholar Recipients


EVANSTON, Ill. — Sixty Northwestern student-athletes from a school-record 18 different varsity programs have earned prestigious Big Ten Distinguished Scholar recognition, the conference office announced Wednesday.

The award, in its ninth year of existence, was established by the Big Ten Faculty Representatives to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, this award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school.

The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. In 2016-17, Northwestern broke its school record for Academic All-Big Ten award winners for the fourth consecutive year when 245 Northwestern student-athletes earned the honor. It was the seventh consecutive year that the Wildcats have gone over the 200 mark for Academic All-Big Ten recipients.

“In a year of tremendous success in competition, our student-athletes continue to set a national standard in the classroom,” said Vice President for Athletics & Recreation Jim Phillips. “To have a school-record 18 programs represented by Distinguished Scholars is a testament to the dedication of our Wildcats, their coaches and our academic support staff. The entire Northwestern community is extremely proud of the way our young men and women represent this University academically, socially and athletically”

Senior Maria Grygleski from the women’s soccer program received special recognition from the conference for earning a perfect 4.0 GPA over the past year.

Northwestern women’s swimming and diving program had an institution- and sport-best 11 representatives earn the distinction, while the Wildcats’ soccer program led the way on the men’s side with five student-athletes earning the award.

Following are Northwestern’s 2016-17 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar recipients:

Connor Lind, Jr., Learning & Organizational Change
JR Reimer, Jr., Learning & Organizational Change
Jake Schieber, Gr., Sports Administration
Cooper Wetherbee, Sr., Environmental Sciences, Economics

Men’s Basketball
Sanjay Lumpkin, Gr., Sports Administration

Women’s Basketball
Maya Jonas, Jr., Biological Sciences

Women’s Cross Country
Ashley Ko, So., Human Development & Psychological Services
Elena Miller, Sr., Industrial Engineering
Andrea Ostenso, Sr., Environmental Engineering
Isabel Seidel, Jr., Journalism

Julia Abelsky, Sr., Statistics
Mandeep Bhinder, Sr., Learning & Organizational Change
Alisha Gomez-Shah, Sr., Psychology
Ella Lombard, So., Psychology
Cindy Oh, Sr., Political Science
Lucia Procopio, Jr., Anthropology, History
Katie Van Riper, Jr., History, Psychology

Field Hockey
Isabel Flens, Sr., Communication Studies
Pascale Massey, Jr., Communication Studies

Tommy Doles, Jr., Political Science
Nate Hall, Jr., Learning & Organizational Change
Jelani Roberts, So., Mechanical Engineering

Men’s Golf
Conor Richardson, Gr., Sports Administration

Women’s Golf
MacKenzie Hawkes, So., Learning & Organizational Change

Women’s Lacrosse
Ally Mueller, Jr., Political Science, Legal Studies
Shannon Nesselbush, Jr., Industrial Engineering
Sheila Nesselbush, Sr., Industrial Engineering

Men’s Soccer
Nathan Dearth, Sr., Communication Studies
Sam Forsgren, Jr., Legal Studies
Brandon Medina, Sr., Economics
Elo Ozumba, Jr., Economics
Mike Roberge, Sr., Political Science

Women’s Soccer
Maria Fayeulle, Jr., Economics
Maria Grygleski, Sr., Communication Studies
Michelle Manning, Jr., Human Communication Sciences
Kaitlin Moore, Gr., Management Studies
Aspyn Repp, So., Economics
Kourtney Scott, Sr., Learning & Organizational Change
Rachel Zampa, Sr., Communication Studies

Sammy Nettling, Jr., Communication Studies
Anna Petersen, Sr., Mechanical Engineering

Men’s Swimming and Diving
Andrew Cramer, Sr., Human Communication Sciences
Almog Olshtein, Jr., Political Science

Women’s Swimming and Diving
Lauren Abruzzo, Sr., Philosophy
Lindsay Adamski, So., Human Development & Psychological Services
Katie Branch, Sr., Psychology
Alex Grimes, So., Computer Science
Lacey Locke, Sr., Human Development & Psychological Services
Aja Malone, Jr., Anthropology, International Studies
Olivia Rosendahl, So., Political Science
Eryn Scannell, So., Journalism, Psychology
Katherine Senseman, Jr., Statistics
Ellen Stello, Sr., Learning & Organizational Change
Annika Winsnes, Sr., Biological Sciences

Women’s Tennis
Rheeya Doshi, Jr., Communication Studies
Erin Larner, Jr., Communication Studies

Women’s Volleyball
Kayla Morin, Sr., Political Science
Maddie Slater, Sr., Learning & Organizational Change

Braxton Cody, So., Mechanical Engineering
Luke Norland, So., Economics

Related Content

Jun 16 2024

Bases-Loaded Walk Lifts Lake Central in 12-Inning Marathon

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - It took a while – 12 innings in 3 hours and 46 minutes, to be exact, as the longest game by innings in IHSAA State...
Jun 16 2024

Gavin Jackson throws first no-hitter, Providence takes 2A crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Providence’s Gavin Jackson took the mound for the bottom of the seventh inning on Saturday completely oblivious....
Jun 15 2024

New Prairie’s big fourth inning secures first state title

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - Down to his final strike with two outs in the fourth inning, New Prairie sophomore Reed Robinson laced a two-run single...
Jun 15 2024

Barr-Reeve “finished the job”, wins first baseball crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Third time was the charm for the top-ranked Barr-Reeve Vikings on Friday night at Victory Field in downtown...
Jun 11 2024

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15 The Valparaiso University Department of Athletics is...