Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

More than half of the 42 students on the Preseason Honors List have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition, including four Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Penn State is the preseason choice to win the 2019 Big Ten Conference women’s soccer championship, according to a poll of the Big Ten coaches released Monday.

The reigning Big Ten Champion Nittany Lions, who have won 19 conference titles and advanced to the NCAA Tournament quarterfinals last year, were selected first in the 2019 Big Ten preseason poll by the conference’s 14 head coaches. Rutgers, which was last season’s Big Ten runner-up and earned its seventh consecutive NCAA Tournament berth, finished second in this year’s preseason poll, while Wisconsin, which is coming off its first NCAA Tournament round of 16 appearance since 2009, was chosen third.

Rounding out the top five in the team balloting were Ohio State and Michigan. The Buckeyes tied Wisconsin for third in last year’s Big Ten standings and reached the NCAA Tournament for the fourth year in a row. Meanwhile, the Wolverines are seeking to return to the postseason for the first time since 2016.

Five Big Ten schools are ranked or receiving votes in the preseason United Soccer Coaches Top 25 poll, led by No. 6 Penn State, which earned a first-place vote in the 35-coach balloting. Wisconsin is next at No. 16, while Minnesota, Ohio State and Rutgers all received votes.

Also on Monday, the conference unveiled the 2019 Big Ten Preseason Honors List, as selected by the conference coaches. More than half (22) of the 42 students earning preseason honors have received Academic All-Big Ten recognition during their careers, highlighted by four Big Ten Distinguished Scholars and four United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-Region selections.

In addition, nearly half (15) of the students on the 2019 Big Ten Preseason Honors List are returning all-conference selections, including last season’s Big Ten Defender of the Year (Penn State’s Kaleigh Riehl) and Goalkeeper of the Year (Rutgers’ Meagan McClelland). What’s more, the Big Ten Preseason Honors List features 10 United Soccer Coaches all-region honorees, two United Soccer Coaches All-Americans (Riehl and Rutgers’ Amirah Ali) and four students (Riehl, Ali, Nebraska’s Sinclaire Miramontez and Ohio State’s Izzy Rodriguez) who were named to the 2019 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List announced earlier this month by United Soccer Coaches.

The 2019 Big Ten women’s soccer season kicks off Thursday with 13 conference schools in action, while Penn State opens its season at 7 p.m. (ET) Friday, playing host to third-ranked Stanford at Jeffrey Field.

Here’s a look at the complete 2019 Big Ten Women’s Soccer Preseason Poll and Preseason Honors List:


  1. Penn State
  2. Rutgers
  3. Wisconsin
  4. Ohio State
  5. Michigan
  6. Minnesota
  7. Nebraska
  8. Illinois
  9. Northwestern
  10. Iowa
  11. Purdue
  12. Indiana
  13. Maryland
  14. Michigan State


Alicia Barker, Sr., D, Illinois

Jaelyn Cunningham, Sr., GK, Illinois

Arianna Veland, Sr., M, Illinois

Chandra Davidson, Sr., F, Indiana

Avery Lockwood, Fr., M, Indiana

Oliwia Wos, So., D, Indiana

Devin Burns, Sr., F, Iowa

Riley Whitaker, So., D, Iowa

Natalie Winters, Sr., M, Iowa

Malikae Dayes, Jr., M/D, Maryland

Mikayla Dayes, Jr., F, Maryland

Alyssa Poarch, So., F, Maryland

Hillary Beall, Jr., GK, Michigan

Nicki Hernandez, Jr., F, Michigan

Sarah Stratigakis, Jr., M, Michigan

Camryn Evans, So., F, Michigan State

Michaela Kovacs, Sr., D, Michigan State

Bria Schrotenboer, Fr., D, Michigan State

Nikki Albrecht, Sr., D, Minnesota

Athena Kuehn, Jr., M, Minnesota

Celina Nummerdor, Jr., M, Minnesota

Meg Brandt, Sr., M/F, Nebraska

Sinclaire Miramontez, Sr., D, Nebraska

Savanah Uveges, Sr., M, Nebraska

Regan Steigleder, Jr., M, Northwestern

Julietta Thron, So., D, Northwestern

Mackenzie Wood, So., GK, Northwestern

Alyssa Baumbick, Jr., D, Ohio State

Izzy Rodriguez, Jr., D, Ohio State

Jordan Silkowitz, Fr., GK, Ohio State

Amanda Dennis, Sr., GK, Penn State

Ellie Jean, Sr., D, Penn State

Kaleigh Riehl, Sr., D, Penn State

Sarah Clark, Jr., M, Purdue

Skylurr Patrick, So., D, Purdue

Grace Walsh, So., D, Purdue

Amirah Ali, Jr., F, Rutgers

Meagan McClelland, So., GK, Rutgers

Chantelle Swaby, Sr., D, Rutgers

Cameron Murtha, Jr., F, Wisconsin

Dani Rhodes, Sr., F, Wisconsin

laire Shea, Jr., D, Wisconsin