Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

In the year it celebrates its 20th anniversary, the Rimington Trophy Committee is pleased to announce its watch list of 81 Division I centers for the 2019 fall season. To build this list, the committee accepted nominations from all eligible programs across the country for consideration. This preseason, centers were nominated from every conference.


The following is a list of those named to the 2019 Fall Watch List:


Conference School First Name Last Name Class Year Height Weight
Am. Athl.            
  Cincinnati Jakari Robinson SO 6’0 295
  Memphis Dustin Woodward SR 6’2 285
  Navy Ford Higgins SR 6’2 260
  SMU Hayden Howerton JR 6’3 290
  Temple Matt Hennessy GRAD 6’4 295
  Tulane Christian Montano GRAD 6’4 300
  UCF Jordan Johnson SR 6’2 320
  Boston College Alec Lindstrom RS SO 6’4 290
  Clemson Sean Pollard SR 6’5 320
  Duke Jack Wohlabaugh RS JR 6’4 300
  Georgia Tech Kenny Cooper SR 6’3 317
  Louisville T.J. McCoy GRAD 6’1 295
  Pitt Jimmy Morrissey JR 6’3 305
  Syracuse Airon Servais RS JR 6’6 273
Big Ten            
  Illinois Doug Kramer JR 6’2 300
  Indiana Hunter Littlejohn SR 6’3 311
  Maryland Johnny Jordan JR 6’1 304
  Michigan Cesar Ruiz JR 6’4 319
  Michigan State Matt Allen JR 6’3 303
  Northwestern Jared Allen Thomas SR 6’4 294
  Penn State Michal Menet RS JR 6’4 313
  Rutgers Michael Maietti RS JR 6’1 292
  Wisconsin Tyler Biadasz JR 6’3 318
Big 12            
  Iowa State Colin Newell SO 6’4 292
  Kansas State Adam Holtorf SR 6’4 302
  Oklahoma Creed Humphrey RS SO 6’5 315
  Oklahoma State Johnny Wilson SR 6’3 304
  TCU Kellton Hollins JR 6’2 292
  Texas Zach Shackelford SR 6’4 305
  Charlotte Jaelin Fisher RS JR 6’2 278
  FIU Dallas Connell SR 6’3 300
  Florida Atlantic Junior Diaz GRAD SR 6’2 300
  Louisiana Tech Kody Russey RS JR 6’1 285
  Marshall Levi Brown SR 6’4 284
  Middle Tennessee Josh Fannin SR 6’3 266
  North Texas Sosaia Mose RS SR 6’2 292
  Southern Miss Trace Clopton SO 6’2 290
  UAB Lee Dufour RS SR 6’4 310
  UTEP Derron Gatewood RS SR 6’2 300
  WKU Seth Joest RS JR 6’2 300
  Army West Point Peyton Reeder JR 6’6 290
  BYU James Empey RS SO 6’4 300
  Notre Dame Jarrett Patterson SO 6’5 300
  Ball State Andrew Poenitsch RS SR 6’3 280
  Bowling Green Jack Kramer SR 6’3 299
  Central Michigan Steve Eipper SR 6’4 286
  Kent State Nate Warnock SR 6’4 300
  Miami (OH) Danny Godlevske RS JR 6’2 300
  Ohio Steven Hayes RS SR 6’4 319
  Toledo Bryce Harris SR 6’3 285
  Western Michigan Luke Jurgia SR 6’4 300
Mtn. West            
  Boise State Garrett Larson RS SR 6’4 302
  Hawaii Kohl Levao SR 6’6 340
  New Mexico Kyle Stapley JR 6’3 307
  San Diego State Keith Ismael JR 6’3 310
  UNLV Sid Acosta SR 6’1 300
  Arizona Josh McCauley RS JR 6’3 292
  Arizona State Cohl Cabral SR 6’5 305
  California Michael Saffell JR 6’2 300
  Colorado Tim Lynott, Jr. SR 6’3 300
  Oregon Jake Hanson SR 6’5 299
  Stanford Drew Dalman JR 6’3 279
  UCLA Boss Tagaloa SR 6’1 315
  USC Brett Neilon SO 6’2 295
  Washington Nick Harris SR 6’1 302
  Washington State Frederick Mauigoa SR 6’3 310
  Auburn Kaleb Kim SR 6’4 300
  Florida Nick Buchanan RS SR 6’3 291
  Georgia Trey Hill SO 6’4 330
  Kentucky Drake Jackson JR 6’2 313
  LSU Lloyd Cushenberry, III JR 6’4 309
  Mississippi State Darryl Williams SR 6’2 310
  Mizzou Trystan Colon-Castillo JR 6’4 315
  Tennessee Brandon Kennedy RS SR 6’3 300
  Texas A&M Ryan McCollum RS JR 6’5 305
Sun Belt            
  Appalachian State Noah Hannon JR 6’1 270
  Arkansas State Jacob Still JR 6’1 296
  Coastal Carolina Trey Carter RS JR 6’1 305
  South Alabama Brian Ankerson JR 6’1 295
  Texas State Aaron Brewer SR 6’3 270
  ULM Bobby Reynolds SR 6’2 286



While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)


Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a “mix” of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee’s policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.


The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 18, 2020.


* * *


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the 20 year old award has raised over $4.2 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only two-time winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com


The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.


NCFAA 2019 Watch List Release Schedule:

Mon., July 15: Bednarik Award/Maxwell Award

Tues., July 16: Davey O’Brien Award

Wed., July 17: Doak Walker Award

Thurs., July 18: Biletnikoff Award

Fri., July 19: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy

Mon., July 22: Paycom Jim Thorpe Award/Butkus Award

Tues., July 23: Outland Trophy pres. by NFID/Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Wed., July 24: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 25: Paul Hornung Award/Wuerffel Trophy

Fri., July 26: Walter Camp Award