RRSN’s Matt Kopsea to be inducted to ISSA Hall of Fame

RRSN’s Matt Kopsea to be inducted to ISSA Hall of Fame
Created 1/22/2016 9:56:15 AM

For the 21st year, the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association is pleased to announce
its annual Hall of Fame Class, set to be inducted in its annual award banquet to be held on
Sunday, April 10th at Valle Vista Country Club in Greenwood.
This year’s class includes the following personalities who have graced Hoosier newspapers,
radio stations, and television airwaves over the last several decades. The inductees are as
Kent Hormann, Fort Wayne Television and Radio Kent
spent over 20 years with WKJG in
Fort Wayne as both a videographer and sports reporter and eventually became the station’s sports
director. In addition, Kent has broadcast professional events in Fort Wayne, ranging from the
Fury, Mad Ants, Tin Caps, Wizards, plus IPFW basketball and volleyball.
Pete DiPrimio, Fort Wayne NewsSentinel Pete
has covered both the Indiana and Purdue beat
for several years, and his work includes covering Final Fours, Indy 500s, and Brickyard 400s. In
addition, Pete has authored three books about Indiana University athletics and 20 children’s
books focusing on sports.
Matt Kopsea, Regional Radio Sports Network/Indiana Football DigestAfter
nearly 20
years with the South Bend Tribune, Matt is now in his fifth year of working with the Regional
Radio Sports Network and writing for the Indiana Football Digest. In addition to his experience
as a sportswriter, Matt has worked in the front office for the South Bend SilverHawks (now
Cubs) and as the sports information director at Bethel College.
Dan Korb, Evansville Courier & PressDan
has been a part of the sports scene in
Southwestern Indiana for over 30 years. Dan’s coverage has ranged from all things auto racing,
including the Indy 500 and Brickyard 400, to the college beats of both Purdue and Southern
Indiana. Dan has previously won the Corky Lamm Award as the top sportswriter in the state in
2013 as awarded by the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association.
Chris Denari, Television voice of Indiana PacersChris
is now in his 10th year as the TV
voice of the Pacers on Fox Sports Indiana. Prior to that, Chris spent nearly 20 years as the radio
voice of the Butler Bulldogs. He’s been on the call of the Indy 500 for many years, including the
prestigious perch atop turn four at the Speedway. Chris was also on the first news staff at what is
now Fox 59 in Indianapolis back in the mid 80s,
and later was the Sports Director there prior to
joining the Pacers full time
in 2006.
Bob Nagle, WHME TV 46 in South Bend Bob
has been a broadcaster in the South Bend area
for just shy of 40 years. Bob began his career at WSBT in the late 70s, and has been a part of
numerous state championship broadcasts both to the South Bend area and as a part of the
statewide television network. In addition, Bob has a longstanding relationship with various
aspects of Notre Dame athletics, ranging from football to women’s basketball to baseball.
In addition to these new Hall of Famers, the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association
will recognize winners of annual honors like the Marv Bates Sportscaster of the Year, the Corky
Lamm Sportswriter of the Year, The Ron Lemasters Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Bob
Williams Helping Hand Award. Those winners are as follows;
Marv Bates Sportscaster of the Year: Michael Grady WFNI/WRTV IndianapolisMichael
is both a major part of the radio and television airwaves in Indianapolis. He’s been a part of 1070
The Fan since its inception in 2008, and has hosted a late morning talk show with former Colt
Joe Staysniak since 2011. In August 2014, Michael joined the staff of WRTV, the ABC affiliate
in Indianapolis. Fans should also be familiar with Michael’s voice at Bankers Life Fieldhouse as
he’s the PA voice of both the Pacers and the Fever.
Corky Lamm Sportswriter of the Year: Al Lesar South Bend Tribune Al
has been covering
high school sports for over 30 years in South Bend, but has also covered Notre Dame and Big
Ten football during his time with the paper. These days, Al is both the assistant sports editor as
well as a columnist for the Tribune.
Ron Lemasters Lifetime Achievement Award: Ron Lemasters Ron
passed away after a
sudden illness last March at the age of 76. Ron was the former sports editor of the Muncie Star
and was a member of the staff for nearly 40 years before retiring. After retiring, Ron served on
the news bureau at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for 15 Indy 500s. This is the first year this
award is being presented in Ron’s name, with Ron’s family receiving the inaugural edition.
Bob Williams Helping Hand Award: Andrew Smith Andrew
has broadcast a wide range of
sporting events of the year, from high school sports primarily in Hancock County to Franklin
College athletics. In addition, Andrew teaches and coaches at New Palestine High School, and
serves as the sports information director for New Pal athletics. His gameday notes are the
equivalent of what most Division I colleges provide to writers and broadcasters. He’s also the PA
voice of the Indy Fuel.
All 10 honorees will be recognized at the group’s annual banquet on April 10th which begins at
2 p.m. at Valle Vista Country Club in Greenwood. Tickets are available with meal included for
$30. To order tickets, send a check for $30 to Fred Inniger, ISSA Treasurer, 3011 Noble Hawk
Drive, Kendallville, IN 46755.
The Indiana Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association was founded in 1946. It created it’s Hall
of Fame 50 years later in 1996. Currently with 99 members, the Hall of Fame roster will surpass
the 100 mark with the induction of the 2016 six member