Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Six boys’ coaches honored by IBCA for 2018-19 season

by | Mar 27, 2019 | Basketball Blogs, Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Eakins, Teagle, Detweiler, Osborn, Hoffman and Holmes cited as boys’ District Coaches of the Year

Six Indiana high school boys’ basketball coaches have been chosen as 2019 Bob King Coaches of the Year by their peers in the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Wednesday (March 27).

Ryan Eakins of East Noble, Craig Teagle of Huntington North, Mark Detweiler of Delta, Ryan Osborn of Carmel, Brandon Hoffman of Silver Creek and J.R. Holmes of Bloomington South have been selected as honorees for the 2018-19 season through voting that occurred from late January through early March, IBCA executive director Steve Witty said.

Honors are awarded according to IHSAA district boundaries, and two coaches from each district are recipients – Eakins and Teagle in District 1; Detweiler and Osborn in District 2; and Hoffman and Holmes in District 3.

Here is information about the six boys’ Coach of the Year honorees.

Eakins led East Noble to a 21-4 season that included championships in the Elkhart Central Holiday Tournament and the Northeast 8 Conference. Eakins is 54-18 in three seasons with the Knights with two Northeast 8 crowns, and he has an 80-80 overall record in seven seasons as a boys’ basketball varsity coach. Previously, Eakins coached four seasons as head coach at Bremen. He also assisted for one year each at Grace College, Mount Vernon Nazarene University in Ohio and Columbus North High School. Eakins is a 2006 graduate of Seymour High School and a 2010 graduate of Grace College. He will be an assistant coach for the 2019 Indiana Junior All-Stars.

Teagle directed Huntington North to a 22-5 season that included championships of the Huntington North Classic and the Fort Wayne Wayne Sectional, the Vikings’ first sectional title in 18 seasons. In four seasons at Huntington North, Teagle’s teams have a 74-29 record with two Northeast 8 Conference crowns. He previously was head coach at Caston, Knox and Jay County and has a 400-219 overall ledger in 27 seasons with seven sectional trophies, one regional title and one semi-state crown. He was an assistant at Blackford and North Judson before becoming a head coach. Teagle is a 1981 graduate of Blackford High School and a 1986 graduate of Ball State. He previously was an IBCA District 2 Coach of the Year in 2009. He also served as head coach of the Indiana Junior All-Stars in 2009 and as head coach of the Indiana All-Stars in 2012.

Detweiler guided Delta to a 27-1 season that included titles in the Hoosier Heritage Conference and the New Castle Sectional, completing the regular season as Indiana’s only undefeated team. In 21 seasons as a varsity coach, Detweiler’s teams have a 280-201 record with four sectional championships. That includes a 28-38 mark in three seasons at Randolph Southern, a 207-155 slate in 16 seasons at Union County and a 45-8 record in two seasons at Delta. He previously was an assistant coach at Cowan, Blue River, Daleville and Randolph Southern. Detweiler is a 1988 graduate of Northeastern High School. He played one season of basketball at Palm Beach Atlantic University in Florida, then transferred to Ball State and graduated in 1992. Detweiler has been named head coach of the 2019 Indiana Junior All-Stars.

Osborn led Carmel to a 26-1 season that included the Class 4A state championship. That followed the Greyhounds claiming titles in the Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference, Carmel Sectional, Logansport Regional and Lafayette Semi-State. He has a two-year varsity record of 47-9 with one MIC, two sectional, two regional and two semi-state crowns in addition to the on state title. Osborn previously was an assistant coach at Avon for five seasons and Carmel for six seasons. He is a 1999 graduate of Logansport High School and a 2004 graduate of IUPUI, where he played on the Jaguars’ team that made the NCAA Tournament in 2003. Osborne has been named an assistant coach for the 2019 Indiana Junior All-Stars.

Hoffman guided Silver Creek to a 25-3 record that included the Class 3A state championship. Along the way, Hoffman’s team won the Charlestown Sectional, Southridge Regional and Seymour Semi-State. In nine seasons, Hoffman has led the Dragons to a 151-67 ledger with three Mid-Southern Conference crowns, five sectional trophies, one regional title, one semi-state crown and one state championship. Hoffman is a 1998 graduate of Silver Creek. He also is a 2002 graduate of Hanover College, where he was a four-year player for the Panthers. Hoffman was an assistant coach at Silver Creek for seven years before being named the program’s head coach in 2010. He previously was an IBCA District 3 Coach of the Year in 2015. He also served as an assistant coach for the Indiana Junior All-Stars in 2015.

Holmes directed Bloomington South to a 24-4 season that included championships of Conference Indiana and the Columbus North Sectional — and also a season in which he became the state’s all-time winningest coach with 810 career victories and just the second Indiana high school basketball coach to reach 800 wins. In 49 seasons as a varsity coach, Holmes has an 810-339 record with 17 conference titles, 20 sectional trophies, seven regional crowns, two semi-state titles and Class 4A state championships in 2009 and 2011. His numbers include a 30-14 mark in two seasons at Tunnelton, a 113-104 slate in 10 seasons at Mitchell and a 667-221 ledger in 37 seasons at Bloomington South. Holmes is a 1965 graduate of Needmore High School and a 1969 graduate of Indiana State. He previously was an IBCA District Coach of the Year in 1999 and 2008. Holmes was head coach of the Indiana All-Star team in 2001, and he was USA Today National Coach of the Year in 2009. Holmes was inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame and the Monroe County Sports Hall of Fame, both in 2012.

These six coaches will receive plaques as an IBCA District Coach of the Year during the 2019 IBCA Clinic on April 26-27 at Lawrence North High School in Indianapolis. For more information about the IBCA Clinic, go to www.ibcacoaches.com.

The Coach of the Year award is named for the late Bob King, the IBCA executive director from 1984-94. King was a Lebanon native who coached at Sacred Heart and Shortridge high schools in Indianapolis before serving as an assistant basketball coach at Purdue and later an assistant and associate athletic director at Purdue.