The IHSAA Executive Committee today unanimously approved Purdue University as the new host site for next spring’s IHSAA Softball State Finals.

The four state championship games, scheduled for Saturday, June 9, 2018, will be played at Bittinger Stadium in West Lafayette. The facility, completed in 2015 and with seating for 1,000 spectators, has earned a reputation as one of the nation’s best collegiate venues.

“The IHSAA is excited and really looks forward to working with Purdue University and showcasing the softball state championship games at Bittinger Stadium,” said Commissioner Bobby Cox. “It’s a beautiful venue and we’re confident that the competing teams and fans attending will thoroughly enjoy their experience.”

Participants in the state championship games will get to conclude their high school season in another top‐notch collegiate facility.

Currently, cross country is held at Indiana State University’s LaVern Gibson Championship Course in Terre Haute; soccer is played at both the Michael A. Carroll Stadium at Indiana University‐Purdue University Indianapolis and Butler University’s Bud and Jackie Sellick Bowl; volleyball and gymnastics are both hosted at Ball State University’s John E. Worthen Arena and; boys, girls and unified track and field are held at Indiana University’s Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex.

Bittinger Stadium will be the fourth venue in the 34 years of the IHSAA Softball State Finals following the last 13 seasons at the Ben Davis High School Softball Complex in Indianapolis. The last state championship to be played in the Greater Lafayette area was baseball which was played at Loeb Stadium in 2005. This will be the first state championship event hosted by Purdue University since 1943 when boys swimming and diving was contested at the Lambert Fieldhouse Pool.

Previous sites for the IHSAA Softball State Finals

Indiana University‐Purdue University Indianapolis (1985‐1989)

Cherry Tree Softball Complex, Carmel (1990‐2004)

Ben Davis High School Softball Complex, Indianapolis (2005‐2017)