Taylor Hauls in 38 Academic All-Crossroads League Honors


INDIANAPOLIS – The Crossroads League announced its 2017 Academic All-Crossroads League award winners on Thursday, with Taylor racking up 38 of the 269 honors for the second-highest total from the spring semester in the 10-school league.


Taylor trailed only Spring Arbor’s 45 Academic All-Crossroads League selections for the spring, which included student-athletes from the sports of basketball, track and field, tennis, golf, baseball and softball.


The Taylor baseball, men’s golf and men’s track programs all led the Crossroads League in Academic All-Crossroads League honors for their respective sports. The TU baseball and men’s track programs each collected eight awards, with men’s golf claiming five.


With the 45 spring semester awards, Taylor garnered the second-highest total of Academic All-Crossroads League honors of any institution within the league with 67 awards during the 2016-2017 year.


In order to be eligible for Academic All-Crossroads League honors, a student-athlete must have reached junior status academically, possess a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale and must have been nominated by their head coach.


Taylor’s list of Academic All-Crossroads League performers from the spring semester included Luke Hunter, Logan Rodgers, Jordan Crabb, Sam Wiese, Jared Adkins, Tanner Watson, Rob Fox and Colin Eggleson of the baseball program, Matt Hall, Tanner Dye, Jordan Florian, Aaron Scott, Joseph Beamish, Stephen Cho, Jonathan Taylor and Tyler Koteskey of the men’s track and field program, Jordan Hall, Nathan Edwards, Seth Neal, Josh Stimmel and Nick Waskom of the men’s golf program, Kathryn Gerig, Abigail Phillips, Hannah Schroder, Alex Berends and Tori Gaesser of the women’s track and field program, Maddie Cornell, Hannah Robbins and Jessie Britt of the softball program, Tim Fleming, Graham Ortmann and Lane Vander Hulst of the men’s basketball program, Monica Compton and Cassidy Wyse of the women’s basketball program, Grace Elenbaas of the women’s golf program, Annika Zeilstra of the women’s tennis program and Jonathan Forte of the men’s golf program.