Taylor Selected as 2018 NAIA Baseball Opening Round Host Site


KANSAS CITY – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics has announced that Taylor University’s Winterholter Field will serve as one of nine host sites for the upcoming 2018 NAIA Baseball Championship Opening Round from May 14-17.


The event will mark the first time that Taylor has hosted an NAIA Opening Round in baseball and also secures a bid into the 45-team field for the Trojans, who enter Monday’s action in the Crossroads League Tournament with a program-record 43 wins to just 12 losses this season.


The 45 teams that make up the Opening Round will be spread out over the list of nine sites that includes Bowling Green, Kentucky, Montgomery, Alabama, Lawrenceville, Georgia, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Lincoln, California, Williamsburg, Kentucky, Kingsport, Tennessee and Hattiesburg, Mississippi, in addition to Upland, Indiana.


Each of the nine sites will host a five-team, double-elimination tournament, with the winners of each bracket advancing to compete in the 62nd-Annual NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho from May 25 through June 1 on the campus of Lewis-Clark State College.