Three Players from the AAC and Big Ten Earn Paul Horning Award Honor Roll

by | Oct 2, 2017 | RRSN News | 0 comments

Three Players from the AAC and Big Ten Earn Paul Horning Award Honor Roll

Trio Touched the Ball Eight Different Ways, Led Teams to Big Conference Victories


Louisville, Ky. – October 2, 2017 – Two offensive workhorses and one defensive stalwart representing the AAC and Big Ten, all who double as return specialists, make up this week’s Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll. Saquon Barkley (Penn State) who makes the list for the second week in a row, is joined by newcomers Mike Hughes (Central Florida), and D.J. Moore (Maryland).


The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually by the Louisville Sports Commission to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner of this year’s award and his family will be honored on March 7, 2018, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville, Ky.


Penn State running back / return specialist Saquon Barkley accounted for 221 all-purpose yards in the Nittany Lions’ 45-14 home win over Indiana. Barkley returned the opening kickoff 98 yards for a touchdown, rushed for 56 yards, caught four passes for 51 yards, and threw a 16-yard touchdown pass. He accounted for 221 all-purpose yards and two scores as Penn State upped its season record to 5-0 and moved to number four in the national polls.


Central Florida defensive back / return specialist Mike Hughes was a key factor in the Knights’ 40-13 win over Memphis. On defense, Hughes had eight total tackles, including four solo tackles, deflected two passes, and intercepted a pass and returned it 35 yards to set up a Knights’ touchdown drive. On special teams, he returned a kick 17 yards and returned two punts for 12 yards. UCF is now 3-0 on the season and ranked number 25 in the nation.


Maryland wide receiver / return specialist D.J. Moore made a big difference for the Terrapins in a 31-24 conference road victory over Minnesota. Moore caught eight passes for 90 yards and one touchdown, carried the ball one time for 24 yards, and returned three punts for 35 yards. Late in the fourth quarter, Moore caught three passes in the Terrapins’ game-winning scoring drive.


The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Previous winners by year are:

2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and honorable mention at linebacker;

2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award as a lockdown, All-American defensiveback who also excelled on offense and special teams;

2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving, and kick returns);

2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the SEC with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;

2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-America honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;

2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won in 2015 after amassing 3,496 all-purpose yards with 1,847 rushing, 540 receiving, and 1,109 return, breaking Barry Sanders record of 3,250 set in 1988; and

2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award playing 15 different positions, earning consensus All-America at linebacker, and becoming the first player ever to earn Big Ten Defensive Player of the year, Linebacker of the Year, and Specialist of the Year.
Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting is now open at and factors into the selection of the Paul Hornung Award finalists and winner.




Texas Roadhouse

Based in Louisville, Kentucky, Texas Roadhouse opened its doors in 1993. Texas Roadhouse has grown to more than 530 locations in 49 states and eight countries. The company is famous for hand-cut steaks, made-from-scratch sides, fresh-baked bread and its lively atmosphere. In 2017, the company was named one of the nation’s Large Best Employer by Forbes magazine and a Best Place to Work for Millennials by Fortune. For more information, visit


KentuckyOne Health

KentuckyOne Health, one of the largest and most comprehensive health systems in the Commonwealth, has more than 200 locations, including hospitals, physician groups, clinics, primary care centers, specialty institutes and home health agencies in Kentucky and southern Indiana. KentuckyOne Health is dedicated to bringing wellness, healing and hope to all, including the underserved.


Louisville Sports Commission

The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) is a Louisville, Kentucky-based 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to create a legacy of economic and social vitality through sports. LSC attracts and hosts sporting events and activities that have a positive economic impact on Louisville, enhance the area’s image as a premier sports destination, promote active lifestyles and improve the quality of life for community members of all ages. More information is available online at and


National College Football Awards Association

The Paul Hornung Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about our story.

Related Content

Jun 26 2024

Glover Named TU Men’s Soccer Interim Head Coach for 2024 Season

Glover Named TU Men’s Soccer Interim Head Coach for 2024 Season UPLAND, Ind. – Taylor University Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, Kyle Gould, announced on...
Jun 26 2024

Sooners tabbed 2024 ATEC/NFCADivision I National Coaching Staff of the Year

Sooners tabbed 2024 ATEC/NFCADivision I National Coaching Staff of the Year LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Coming off its record fourth consecutive national title, University of...
Jun 16 2024

Bases-Loaded Walk Lifts Lake Central in 12-Inning Marathon

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - It took a while – 12 innings in 3 hours and 46 minutes, to be exact, as the longest game by innings in IHSAA State...
Jun 16 2024

Gavin Jackson throws first no-hitter, Providence takes 2A crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Providence’s Gavin Jackson took the mound for the bottom of the seventh inning on Saturday completely oblivious....
Jun 15 2024

New Prairie’s big fourth inning secures first state title

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - Down to his final strike with two outs in the fourth inning, New Prairie sophomore Reed Robinson laced a two-run single...