TU Football Leads Nation with 17 NAIA Scholar-Athletes


KANSAS CITY – The Taylor University football team continued to rake in the academic honors on Friday, putting 17 student-athletes on the 2017 Daktronics Football Scholar-Athlete list for the highest number in the nation.


In order to be eligible to be named a NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have reached junior academic status and must be nominated by their institution.


Jacob Baker, Daniel Boy, Hunter Brooks, Ben Davis, Craig Faulkner, Michael Garrity, Brandon George, Tyler Gerig, Brady Hill, Grant Hohlbein, Kyle Kempton, Brian Little, Sam Martinez, Everett Pollard, Derek Wanner, Mitch Whedon and Michael Wiersema were among the 379 football student-athletes from around the nation to be recognized as 2017 NAIA Scholar-Athletes.


In addition to leading the nation in Scholar-Athletes, TU football also ranked second in the Mid-States Football Association with 17 Academic All-MSFA standouts and ranked third in the NAIA with five CoSIDA Academic All-District selections following the 2017 campaign.