TU Women’s Hoops Claims Four NAIA Scholar-Athlete Honors


KANSAS CITY – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics recently announced its 2018 Daktronics NAIA Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athletes, and Taylor University had four honorees on the list.


In order to be eligible to be named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status at their current institution. Taylor had all four of its eligible student-athletes receive the honor.


Josie Cobb, Lacey Garrett, Aubrey Wright and Cassidy Wyse were among the 278 NAIA Division II women’s basketball student-athletes from around the nation to be named as 2018 NAIA Scholar-Athletes and were four of 26 student-athletes from the Crossroads League to be recognized.


Taylor ended the 2017-2018 season in the NAIA National Championship Tournament Round of 16 with a 24-11 overall record, including a program-best seven wins over ranked opponents.