Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

University of Georgia Recognized as 2021 NFF MacArthur Bowl Recipient

by | Jan 11, 2022 | Featured, Football Blogs | 0 comments

University of Georgia Recognized as
2021 NFF MacArthur Bowl Recipient

Georgia wins its 2nd MacArthur Bowl and its first in 41 years as the Bulldogs concluded their season with a win over Alabama in the CFP National Championship.


IRVING, TEXAS (Jan. 11, 2022) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame today recognized No. 3 Georgia (14-1) as the recipient of the 2021 NFF MacArthur Bowl National Championship Trophy following the team’s 33-18 victory over No. 1 Alabama (13-2) yesterday in the College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship Presented by AT&T before a sellout crowd of 68,311 fans at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Ind.

The name of the 2021 Bulldogs will now be etched alongside the greatest teams in college football history on the MacArthur Bowl Championship Trophy, including the 1980 Georgia team, the last and only time the school has claimed the trophy. The trophy is housed at the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. An event honoring the team will take place at the Hall in the future.

“On behalf of the National Football Foundation, our 12,000 members, our board of directors and Chairman Archie Manning, we are extremely proud to recognize Coach Kirby Smart and the Georgia Bulldogs,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “This trophy was started in 1959 by General Douglas MacArthur, the great sports writer Grantland Rice and legendary coach Red Blaik, and etched on the side of this stadium replica in all silver are all of the subsequent national champions. As the keepers of the history and the legacy of the sport of football, we are exceptionally pleased to keep the tradition alive by etching this Georgia team on its walls.”

Stetson Bennett IV, the former walk-on who earned the starting quarterback job this year, claimed the game’s offensive MVP honors, completing 17 of 26 passes for 224 yards and two touchdowns, which both came in the fourth quarter. The first was a 40-yard strike to wide receiver Adonai Mitchell, and the second was a 15-yard completion to tight end Brock Bowers. Running back Zamir White rushed for 84 yards and a third quarter touchdown. Defensive back Kelee Ringo sealed the victory, returning an interception 79 yards for a touchdown with 54 seconds left in the game, and defensive back Christopher Smith had a key inception in the third quarter. Safety Lewis Cine, who registered seven tackles, including one for a loss, was named defensive MVP.

With the win, Georgia recorded its first national title in 41 years, claiming the MacArthur Bowl for a second time. The Bulldogs won the MacArthur Bowl in 1980, under College Football Hall of Fame head coach Vince Dooley. Prior to the presentation of the MacArthur Bowl in 1959, Georgia was recognized as national champions by polling agencies in 1920, 1927, 1942 and 1946. A team in the current SEC has now claimed the trophy 20 times.

Presented to every national champion since 1959, the MacArthur Bowl represents the pinnacle of team achievement in college sports, and each year during its 63-year history a new name has been etched alongside the greatest teams of all time. The trophy, a replica of a football stadium, features archways with space to engrave the names of 100 teams and miniature goal posts. The trophy was the gift of an anonymous donor, who commissioned Tiffany & Co. to craft it from 400 ounces of silver, in honor of early NFF leader General Douglas MacArthur. It took eight months to make, and the trophy features MacArthur’s famous quote: “There is no substitute for victory.”

Twenty-four different schools have claimed the trophy at least once during its 63-year history. Alabama has hoisted it the most, claiming it 10 times. Notre Dame is second with five wins while Ohio State, Miami (FL), Southern California and Texas have each etched their names four times on the trophy. Clemson, Florida, Florida State, LSU, Nebraska and Oklahoma each boast being three-time recipients. Georgia, Michigan State and Penn State have each won the trophy twice.

During college football’s Poll Era, the NFF MacArthur Bowl Committee selected the recipient of the trophy. With the advent of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) in 1998, the national championship game has determined which team claimed the MacArthur Bowl, a tradition that continues under the College Football Playoff.

First presented in 1959, NFF National Champions and MacArthur Bowl recipients include: Syracuse 1959, Minnesota 1960, Alabama 1961, Southern California 1962, Texas 1963, Notre Dame 1964, Michigan State 1965, Michigan State/Notre Dame 1966, Southern California 1967, Ohio State 1968, Texas 1969, Ohio State/Texas 1970, Nebraska 1971, Southern California 1972, Notre Dame 1973, Southern California 1974, Oklahoma 1975, Pittsburgh 1976, Notre Dame 1977, Alabama 1978, Alabama 1979, Georgia 1980, Clemson 1981, Penn State 1982, Miami (FL) 1983, Brigham Young 1984, Oklahoma 1985, Penn State 1986, Miami (FL) 1987, Notre Dame 1988, Miami (FL) 1989, Colorado 1990, Washington 1991, Alabama 1992, Florida State 1993, Nebraska 1994, Nebraska 1995, Florida 1996, Michigan 1997, Tennessee 1998, Florida State 1999, Oklahoma 2000, Miami (FL) 2001, Ohio State 2002, LSU 2003, Vacated 2004, Texas 2005, Florida 2006, LSU 2007, Florida 2008, Alabama 2009, Auburn 2010, Alabama 2011, Alabama 2012, Florida State 2013, Ohio State 2014, Alabama 2015, Clemson 2016, Alabama 2017, Clemson 2018, LSU 2019, Alabama 2020 and Georgia 2021.