Freshman’s KO return earns MSFA Special Teams POTW


FINDLEY, Ohio — University of Saint Francis freshman Matt Kominkiewicz (Common – kay – witch)  has been named MSFA Mideast League SPECIAL TEAMS Payer of the Week after his 89-yard kickoff return for the first touchdown of the game in USF’s 70-0 win over Lindenwood University-Belleville (IL) on Oct. 28.

Kominkiewicz (5-8, 173, Fr., Mishawaka, Ind. / Penn H.S.) return was the 14th in the 20-year history of the USF football program. He is just the fourth player in USF history to accomplish the feat and is the first to do it since Austin Coleman did it Nov. 24, 2012 at Marian. It was the first USF kickoff return for a TD at Bishop D’Arcy Stadium since Coleman’s 81-yard return for six on Sept. 22, 2012 against Concordia. It was the seventh longest by a Cougar returner.


This the 10th time USF has had a player named POTW this season, which is a USF record for selections in a single season.


USF MSFA Players-of-the-Week 2017 (10)
Sept. 11 —             Ryan Johnson (Xenia, Ohio) So.                      CB          Special Teams
Sept. 18 —             Nick Ferrer (Westfield, Ind.) Sr.                        QB          Offensive
Sept. 18 —             Piercen Harnish (Ossian, Ind.) Jr.                     LB           Defensive
Oct. 2 —                 Nick Ferrer (Westfield, Ind.) Sr.                        QB          Offensive
Oct. 9 —                 Eric Dunten (ILB, Fort Wayne, Ind.)                  LB           Defensive
Justin Green (Griffith, IN)                                  RB          Offensive
Gavin Gardner (Van Wert, OH / Van Wert H.S.)  K          Special Teams

Oct. 16 —              Justin Green (Griffith, IN)                               RB           Offensive
Oct. 23 —              Nick Ferrer (Westfield, Ind.) Sr.                      QB          Offensive

Oct. 30 —              Matt Kominkiewicz (Mishawaka, Ind.) Fr.         KOR        Special Teams


USF KO Returns for TDs — 14

Austin Coleman (2009-13) – 8

Corey Jacquay (2002-05) – 2

Daniel Carter (2006-09) – 3

Matt Kominkiewicz (2007- ) — 1