Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

USF to induct 4 graduates, 1 team in

24th Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2017-18


FORT WAYNE, Ind. — The University of Saint Francis Athletic Hall of Fame will welcome one team and four former student-athletes in April.


This year’s induction will take place on Sat., April 21, along with the CASPYS (Cougar Achievement in Sports Performance Yearly) at the North Campus Auditorium starting at 6 p.m.


The four USF student-athlete graduates chosen for induction as the 24th class includes six-time Outdoor/Indoor All-American and two-time NAIA hammer throw champion Jean (Marqueling) Longsworth (track and field), Chris Van Horn (football), Travis Potchka (baseball), and Bob Dissinger (men’s basketball).


The team selected was the 1997 USF Women’s Soccer team which finished 19-3 and was coached by Ken Nuber, who is in the USF AHOF.


All four individuals set records at USF in their respective programs while the 1997 women’s soccer team set records for wins, won the conference regular season, the conference tournament title and earned a berth in the NAIA Championship Regional final four.


This is the 24th class of USF AHOF inductees, which started with the class of one in 1989 – founder of the then Saint Francis College athletic program, athletic director and Coach Terry Coonan. The USF AHOF will expand to 83 individuals and seven teams with the addition of the 2017-18 class.