Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Valpo’s Dave Coyle named Colts Coach of the Week

by | Aug 21, 2017 | Featured, Football Blogs, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments




Dave Coyle of Valparaiso High School has been named the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week, a program presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.


Coach Coyle was nominated and selected for this award after unranked Valparaiso defeated Class 6A No. 5 Penn 12-7. The Vikings victory ended a 7-game losing streak to the Kingsmen.


The 2017 season marks the eighteenth year the Indianapolis Colts will be recognizing outstanding Indiana High School football coaches through the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week program, presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.


All high school head coaches in the state of Indiana are eligible regardless of their school size, league or division. Coaches are evaluated on various factors including the coach’s impact on his team, school and community, as well as performance of the team.  The honorees are selected by a panel of high school football media, former athletic directors and other football representatives from all regions of the state.


Each Monday, following a high school football game weekend, one head coach will be announced. At the conclusion of the high school football season, each winning coach will receive a framed certificate signed by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, Colts Head Coach Chuck Pagano, Colts General Manager Chris Ballard and Colts Youth Football Commissioner Mike Prior, as well as a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation.  In addition, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield will contribute $1,000 for the school’s athletic fund.


The following coaches were recognized as honorable mentions for Week 1:


Region 1 –  Winner Region 6 –  John Hart – Brownsburg
Region 2 – John Barron – Plymouth Region 7 –  Scott Marsh – Roncalli
Region 3 –  Kyle Lindsay – Bishop Luers Region 8 – Mike Campbell – Greenwood
Region 4 –  Ryan Good – Attica Region 9 –  Scott Buening – Southridge
Region 5 –  Joe Grant – North Miami Region 10 –  John Dablow – Silver Creek