The Thomas More Saints began their season in November ranked at No. 14 and went on a 15 game win streak before being handed their first loss against Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) in January. The Saints rebounded after that and restarted their win streak and landed the team’s first No. 1 ranking in February.  The win streak and the No. 1 ranking followed the Saints into postseason play where they would capture their second appearance in the national championship tournament after being announced as a qualifier in the 2020 national championship.

Westmont opened up its season in December and started out as No. 1 in the Top 25 poll for the preseason and first regular-season polls before they dropped a little. However, the team would not drop below No. 4. Despite opening their season with a loss, the Warriors would start a win streak that would follow them into postseason play where they would capture their 16th appearance at the national championship tournament.

Both Westmont and Thomas More landed a No. 1 see in their respective opening rounds and would play the winner of the two and three seeds. Thomas More made its way past Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) and Westmont advanced with a win Montana Western.

After completing opening rounds, 16 teams made their way the Sioux City, Iowa, to play in the Tyson Events Center.

The Saints captured wins over No. 16 Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio), No. 9 Dakota State (S.D.) and Morningside (Iowa) to get to the finals.

The Warriors came from the opposite side of the bracket and captured wins over No. 15 Lyon (Ark.) No. 7 Clarke (Iowa) and No. 11 Indiana Wesleyan before meeting Thomas More in the final.

The championship game started with Westmont controlling the tip but Thomas More would draw first blood with the first two-point bucket from Alexah Chrisman.

The Saints jumped out to an early 9 point lead that the Warriors chipped away at through the first quarter to come within two-point.

A two-point shot from Stefanie Berberabe of Westmont knotted the two teams up at 19 in the second quarter but Emily Simon of Thomas More answered on the other end of the court with a three-point shot.

However, a three-point shot from Gabriella Stoll and Iyree Jarrett of Westmont would tie the score and give the Warriors the lead. After taking the lead in the second quarter Westmont held the lead for the remainder of the game.

Westmont claimed its second title on Tuesday night. The teams first title was in 2013 against Lee (Tenn.).

All-Tournament Team

1st Team

Stefanie Berberabe (MVP) – Westmont (Calif.)
Iyree Jarrett – Westmont (Calif.)
Taylor Clos – Thomas More (Ky.)
Anne Secrest – Indiana Wesleyan
Sierra Mitchell – Morningside (Iowa)

2nd Team

Lauren Tsuneishi – Westmont (Calif.)
Emily Simon – Thomas More (Ky.)

Alexah Chrisman – Thomas More (Ky.)
Dayton Groninger – Indiana Wesleyan
Sophia Peppers – Morningside (Iowa)

Hustle Award

Lauren Tsuneishi – Westmont (Calif.)