Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

The Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) released its postseason honors for women’s volleyball. Kendra Zwart of Cornerstone picked up her third consecutive Player of the Year award after leading the league with 564 kills, .346 hitting percentage, and 218 total blocks (ranking her first in the NAIA). It’s the first time a three-peat has happened since 1998-2000 when Brandy Malewski of Madonna won the award three straight times.

Karly Morris of Aquinas was named Libero of the Year with 789 digs in 132 sets, ranking her fourth in the NAIA. Kristi Doherty of Lawrence Tech received Setter of the Year with 1,146 assists for 9.2 per set. Newcomer of the Year went to Devon Heitkamp of UNOH with 539 kills, 39 digs, and 68 total blocks.

Aquinas head coach Rick Schoreder was voted as Coach of the Year and Danielle Cook of Concordia was selected as Champions of Character Coach.

In addition to All-Conference, the WHAC also announced its All-Academic Team (juniors or above in academic standing with cumulative GPA of at least 3.25), Champions of Character Team (best represents the five core character values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership) and All-Freshman Team.

First Team All-Conference

Name School Yr. Pos.
Stephanie Chenlo Aquinas SR S
*Kylie Christensen Aquinas SO MH
Kristin Danielson Aquinas SR OH
Karly Morris Aquinas JR L
Mackenzie Vallad Cornerstone SR L
^Kendra Zwart Cornerstone SR MH
Madeline MacDonald Indiana Tech JR L
*Kristi Doherty Lawrence Tech JR S
*Zakia Hunt Lawrence Tech JR MH
Monique Oliveira Lourdes SR OH
Jodie Kelly Madonna SO OH
Christine Tylutki Siena Heights SR OH
Devon Heitkamp UNOH JR MH
Kayleigh Hulst UNOH JR S

*Repeat selection from 2017   |   ^Repeat selection from 2017, 2016