Purdue’s Cullop, Lamping Picked for Indiana HOF


The former teammates helped lead Boilermakers to an NCAA tournament bid in 1992


WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Former Purdue women’s basketball standouts Tricia Cullop and Cindy Lamping were announced Tuesday as members of the 2018 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame induction class, and will be honored at the 17th-annual women’s award banquet on Saturday, April 28, 2018. The homegrown Boilermakers both played for the Old Gold & Black in the early 1990’s, teaming up for two seasons in 1992 and 1993.


Cullop played at Purdue from 1990-93, appearing in 104 career games, starting 39 as a junior and senior and serving as a team captain in 1993. She was a member of the first Big Ten Conference Championship team in 1991, and appeared in three NCAA Tournaments in 1990, 1991 and 1992, advancing to the Sweet 16 in 1990 and 1992. Cullop earned recognition as three-time Academic All-Big Ten, recipient of the Red Mackey Award and Purdue’s Mortar Board Student Athlete of the Year. The Bicknell, Indiana native remains a member of the women’s college basketball landscape, serving as the head coach at Evansville from 2000-to-2008, and currently in her 10th season as the head coach at Toledo. In nine seasons at Toledo, Cullop has hung six postseason banners, including a 2011 Postseason WNIT championship, one MAC Championship, two MAC regular-season and four MAC West Division banners.


Lamping was a lineup fixture for the Old Gold & Black from 1992-to-1995, playing in 117 career games with 78 starts. The two-time team captain helped the Boilermakers to the first NCAA Final Four in program history, as Purdue went 29-5 in 1993-94, and back-to-back Big Ten Conference Championships in 1994 and 1995. Lamping fell just shy of 1,000 career points, scoring 942, but remains one of the Boilermakers’ all-time leaders in assists, ranking 15th with 308, and ranks fifth in career assists/turnover ratio at 1.40. She earned a variety of academic honors in her Boilermaker career as well, being named CoSIDA Academic All-District (1993), receiving an NCAA postgraduate scholarship in 1995, and earning Academic All-Big Ten honors on three occasions.


The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 17th-Annual Women’s Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, April 28, 2018. The day’s events will include a free reception at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame museum that afternoon and a banquet that evening at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.  Reservations are available online now or through mail order in early 2018.  Call the Hall at 765-529-1891, visit www.hoopshall.com/events or email info@hoopshall.com for more information.