Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

ANN ARBOR, Mich. — The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced today (Wednesday, March 20) its top 10 finalists for the 2019 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, naming Quinn Hughes of the University of Michigan ice hockey team among the group. The Hobey Baker Award is given annually to the top NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey player in the nation.


As a sophomore, Hughes led the Wolverines in points with 33 (five goals, 28 assists in 32 games), which was the highest total by any defensemen in the Big Ten Conference and ninth-highest in the nation among blueliners. His team-best 28 assists rank fifth among defensemen and 11th among all skaters while being third in the Big Ten. Hughes signed an entry-level contract with the Vancouver Canucks following the conclusion of Michigan’s season.


Hughes was named to the All-Big Ten first team and was a finalist for Big Ten Player of the Year and Big Ten Defenseman of the Year following the 2018-19 season.


The top 10 finalists will now be voted on by a 29-member selection committee and through a second round of fan balloting (March 21-31) to determine the Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists, which will be announced on Thursday, April 4. The 2019 Hobey Baker Memorial Award will be presented Friday, April 12, at the KeyBank Rink during the Frozen Four in Buffalo, New York.


The nomination marks the 22nd time a Michigan student-athlete has been tabbed as a Hobey Baker finalist. Michigan has had 18 different players named a finalist since the award was first given out in 1981.


Michigan has had two Hobey Baker winners in Brendan Morrison (1997) and Kevin Porter (2008).


Michigan’s Hobey Baker Memorial Award Finalists


1991 – Denny Felsner

1992 – Denny Felsner

1994 – David Oliver

1994 – Steve Shields

1994 – Brian Wiseman

1995 – Brendan Morrison

1996 – Brendan Morrison

1997 – Brendan Morrison (winner)

1997 – John Madden

1998 – Bill Muckalt

2000 – Mike Comrie

2001 – Andy Hilbert

2005 – T.J. Hensick

2007 – T.J. Hensick

2008 – Kevin Porter (winner)

2009 – Louie Caporusso

2012 – Shawn Hunwick

2015 – Zach Hyman

2016 – JT Compher

2016 – Kyle Connor

2016 – Tyler Motte

2019 – Quinn Hughes