Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Seven Trojans Named Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes

KANSAS CITY – The Taylor women’s basketball team touted seven Daktronics NAIA Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athletes, the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics office announced on Tuesday.

Abby Buchs, Becca Buchs, Kendall Bradbury, Lacey Garrett, Sydney Huffman, Jamie Netzley and Aubrey Wright were among the 312 women’s basketball student-athletes from around the country honored for their achievements in the classroom. Garrett and Wright have now received the honor for two-straight years. The seven Trojans led the Crossroads League, which boasted a total of 34 student-athletes recognized for the award.

In order to be eligible to be named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status at their current institution.