Swanson named to Second Annual SCB Hall of Fame Class Announced

by | Sep 11, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Second Annual SCB Hall of Fame Class Announced

September 08, 2017
Article Image

BALDWIN CITY, Kan. – With much excitement, Small College Basketball announces the Second Annual SCB Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will return to Evansville, Indiana. The SCB Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will take place on Thursday, November 2 at 6:30 p.m. at the Doubletree by Hilton in Evansville, Indiana. SCB will induct 12 new members into its elite Hall of Fame.

“It is an absolute thrill to announce the Class of 2017 for the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame,” said SCB Founder, John McCarthy. “This class represents the best of the best in the history of small college basketball, and it is with great pleasure that we announce this class.

The Small College Basketball Class of 2017 consists of the following members:

Zelmo Beaty, Player, Prairie View A&M
Walt Frazier, Player, Southern Illinois
Emil Liston, Contributor, Baker
Bob Love, Player, Southern
Coach Don Meyer, Coach, Hamline, David Lipscomb and Northern State
Coach Dave Robbins, Coach, Virginia Union
Jack Sikma, Player, Illinois Wesleyan
Elmore Smith, Player, Kentucky State
Jim Spivey, Player, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Rico Swanson, Player, Bethel (IN)
George Tinsley, Player, Kentucky Wesleyan
Al Tucker, Player, Oklahoma Baptist

Fans may purchase tickets/tables to the Hall of Fame Induction through the following link, www.HoFClassic.com, or by calling 812-421-2212.

“This is an outstanding Hall of Fame Class, nearly equal to the inaugural class” said Don Landry, member of the SCB Hall of Fame Selection committee. “It includes two great coaches, a famous contributor to the sport and several of the greatest players to ever play small college basketball.

“As a member of the selection committee, it was extremely difficult to make a decision of the most deserving players. In the future we have many more deserving coaches and players to consider. Our assignment will not get easier.”

Said SCB Founder, John McCarthy: “It is important to note the tremendous amount of time and effort put forth from our Hall of Fame Committee. This process has taken months and months of research, discussion and exchange of information. This prominent committee spent a great deal of time with this process, and I am incredibly grateful.”

The SCB Hall of Fame committee consists of: Don Landry, former head coach/AD/commissioner, Roy Pickerill, SID Kentucky Wesleyan and NCAA Elite 8 media coordinator, Jim Nelson, AD Emeritus and Former Head Coach at Suffolk, Doug Palm, NCAA DIII historian, Rick Zvosec, former collegiate head coach, Gary Pine, Azusa Pacific AD, Steve Shepherd, AD and head basketball coach at College of the Ozarks, Gary Stewart, head coach at Stevenson University, Jerry Dunn, head coach at Tuskegee, Matt Simms, executive director of USCAA, Mike Lightfoot, head coach at Bethel (Ind.), Bob Guptill, SID at GNAC & Central Washington; former SID at Pac West, Chad Waller, Director of Athletic Communications & Media, John Rinka, SCB Hall of Fame Member and Steve Knight, Head Coach, William Carey.

If you are interested in nominating a former SCB collegiate student-athlete, coach or contributor for the Hall of Fame, please submit information to [email protected].

For more information about Small College Basketball, please visit the website at www.smallcollegebasketball.com.

“My induction into the Small College Basketball Hall of Fame last November is the most cherished of my awards,” said John Rinka, 2016 SCB Hall of Fame inductee, and current member of the SCB Hall of Fame Committee. “I cannot imagine a greater honor than to have my basketball accomplishments recognized along with those of Earl Monroe, Travis Grant, Jerry Sloan, Lucious Jackson and the other greats in the inaugural class who came out of the small college ranks.”

Related Content

Dec 02 2023

Saint Xavier and IWU reach 2023 NAIA Football Championship Series Quarterfinals

Preview of the 2023 NAIA Football Championship Series Quarterfinals KANSAS CITY, Mo. – [FCS Schedule] The NAIA Football Championship Series continues on Saturday,...
Dec 02 2023

Recap of the Final Day of Pool Play at the 2023 NAIA Women’s Volleyball Championship. No.1 IWU improves to 35-0

Recap of the Final Day of Pool Play at the 2023 NAIA Women’s Volleyball Championship Dec 02, 2023 SIOUX CITY, Iowa – The final day of pool play at the 2023 NAIA Women’s...
Dec 02 2023

IUSB Men’s Basketball defeat Waldorf 76-61 to improve to 6-3

SOUTH BEND, Ind.- The Indiana University South Bend Titans (6-3, 2-0 CCAC) defeated the Waldorf University Warriors (2-6, 0-0 HOA) by a final score of 76-61. Friday's...
Dec 02 2023

Crossroads League in the NAIA National Polls | November 27–December 3

Crossroads League in the NAIA National Polls | November 27–December 3  JACKSON, Mich. – The NAIA recently announced its latest Top-25 Polls for the sports of men’s and...
Dec 02 2023

Purdue WBB roll past Dayton 67-59

DAYTON, Ohio – The Purdue women's basketball team used a nine-point run at the start of the fourth quarter to pull away to a 67-59 win on the road Friday night at...