FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Taylor men’s golf team cruised to its second straight Crossroads League title on Tuesday as the 15th-ranked Trojans dominated the field on their way to a 19-shot victory.


Taylor carded a final round score of 293 on the par-71, 6,857-yard layout of Pine Valley Country Club to seal up the championship after the Trojans built a 24-shot lead throughout the first two rounds. Taylor finished with a three-round total of 867 (+15) followed by Marian at 886 (+34). Indiana Wesleyan took third at 897 (+45) while Spring Arbor finished fourth at 926 (+74).


Sophomore Alec Dutkowski and junior Trey Turner both tallied final round 72’s to finish the 54-hole tournament in a 3-way tie with Indiana Wesleyan’s Jake Coffey at the top of the individual leaderboard. With Dutkowski and Turner already securing their spot at the NAIA National Championship due to the Trojans’ team victory the duo elected to concede the playoff to Coffey, allowing the IWU senior to earn an individual bid to the National Championship next month.


Taylor counted 72’s from Dutkowski and Turner along with a 74 from senior Ian Rinken and a 75 from junior Mitch Lamping during the final round on Tuesday. Nick Waskom, the tournament’s 36-hole leader, carded a final round 77 but still finished in a tie for fifth place.


All five Trojan golfers finished in the top nine on the individual leaderboard with Dutkowski (71-74-71) and Turner (68-77-72) tying for first, Waskom (71-72-77) in fifth, Lamping (71-75-75) in eighth, and Rinken (76-72-74) finishing in ninth place.


Dutkowski was named the Crossroads League Player of the Year while Lamping, Turner, and Waskom were each selected to the All-Crossroads League team. Taylor head coach Cameron Andry was named the Crossroads League Coach of the Year for the second straight season.


Taylor led the field in par-3, par-4, and par-5 scoring for the week and led the field with 172 pars and 36 birdies over the 54-hole tournament.


The league title is the 10th in TU men’s golf history and is the first time TU has won back-to-back conference championships since 1977 and 1978.


The Trojans will now set their sights for the NAIA National Championship scheduled for May 16-19 at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois.