by | Sep 12, 2017 | Featured, Football Blogs, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments



Kevin Mills earned his 100th career win with Crawford County’s 52-14 win over Rock Creek Academy. It also snapped the Wolfpack’s 13-game losing streak.

Da’Ziaun Sargent’s five-yard touchdown run with 40.9 seconds gave visiting and top-ranked (Class 4A) Evansville Reitz a 28-21 win over No. 2 (Class 4A) Evansville Central in front of more than 8,000 fans.

Trae Hales’ three-yard scamper with 17 seconds on the clock was the difference in Evansville Harrison’s 17-14 win over Evansville North.

Tim Jordan came off the bench to throw for 180 yards and two touchdowns, helping New Haven rally for a 35-33 overtime victory at Leo.

Reese Crossin’s 34-yard strike to Michael Scarsella with 13.1 seconds left lifted Valparaiso to a 17-14 win over Michigan City.

Blackford halted a 15-game Central Indiana Conference losing streak with a 34-14 win over Oak Hill.

Carroll (Flora) had its 13-game regular season winning streak snapped with a 28-27 loss to Sheridan.

Evansville Memorial is 4-0 for the first time since 1989 with 37-14 decision over Evansville Mater Dei.

Bedford North Lawrence is 4-0 for the first time since 2005 with its 42-41 double-overtime win over New Albany.

Eastern (Greentown) moved to 4-0 for the first time since 2010 with a 22-18 win against Taylor.

Indianapolis Tindley is 4-0 for the first time with a 54-0 blanking of Indiana Deaf School.

Adams Central set program-best for points scored in a 70-42 win over Jay County, surpassing its previous high of 69 points in 2003 against South Central (69-0).

Angola established a new mark for points scored in a 72-21 win against West Noble, snapping the previous high of 65 points set twice in 2010 against Fremont (65-19) and Central Noble (65-14)

Pioneer and Silver Creek have still yet to allow a point through its first four games, The Panthers have outscored its opponents, 184-0, while the Dragons have tallied a mark of 125-0.

Heading into week five, there are 65 unbeaten teams and 47 winless teams.

With its 45-20 triumph over Plainfield, defending Class 4A state champion Indianapolis Roncalli tied the program record with its 19th straight win, which was previously set in the 1994 and 1995 seasons.


The following coaches earned their first victory at their new school.

Lane Oakley – Evansville Harrison (17-14 over Evansville North)

Don Coller – Lafayette Central Catholic (38-28 over Benton Central)

Scott Pethtel – Muncie Central (56-14 over Richmond)

Brad Sanders – Riverton Parke (26-7 over Seeger)


Indianapolis Roncalli has a 19-game winning streak.

Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter has a 13-game winning streak.

Westfield has been victorious in 12 straight games.


Clarksville has a 29-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 28 straight games.

Hammond Clark and Prairie Heights have 26 losses in a row.

Wood Memorial has suffered 23 straight losses.

South Bend Clay has suffered 16 losses in a row.

Anderson Prep Academy has dropped 12 straight contests.

Indianapolis Broad Ripple has an 11-game losing streak.

Frankfort has suffered 10 losses in a row.

Crawfordsville, Franklin, and North White have lost nine straight games.

Cambridge City Lincoln, Corydon Central, and Rockville have dropped eight consecutive contests.


Columbus East has run off 72 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

Penn has won 36 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

East Central has won 32 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 28 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

Gibson Southern has won 19 consecutive Pocket Conference contests.

Pioneer has come out on top in 19 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Woodlan has taken 15 consecutive Allen County Conference contests.


Benton Central has lost 23 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

Clarksville has suffered 20 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.


New Palestine 40, Pioneer 30, Gibson Southern 25, Woodlan 23, Indianapolis Roncalli 16, Covenant Christian 15, Hanover Central 15, Fort Wayne Snider 13, New Haven 13.


Clarksville 26, Hammond Bishop Noll 25, Hammond Clark 23, Prairie Heights 23, Wood Memorial 20, South Bend Clay 14, Anderson Prep Academy 11, Indianapolis Broad Ripple 10, Frankfort 9, Crawfordsville 8, Franklin 8, North White 8, Cambridge City Lincoln 7, Corydon Central 7, Rockville 7.

WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry “Bud” Wright (Sheridan) 404, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 342, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 305, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 293, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 286, John Hart (Brownsburg) 277, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 247, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 246, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 244, Rick Streiff (Indianapolis Cathedral) 236, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 228, Leroy Marsh (Munster) 225, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 223, George Gilbert (Tri-Central) 220, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 219, Kevin O’Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 217, Mark Bless (Avon) 208, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 206, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 202.


CLOSING IN ON 200: Brett Colby (Kokomo) 198, Bart Curtis (Mishawaka) 197, John Hendryx (Knox) 194.

CLOSING IN ON 150: Darrin Fisher (Whiteland) 149, Chris Meeks (Rensselaer Central) 149, Steve Weber (Bedford North Lawrence) 146.

CLOSING IN ON 100: Mike Kirschner (Ben Davis) 99, Chris Barrett (Terre Haute North) 98, Jared Sauder (Leo) 96, Brian Crabtree (North Vermillion) 96, Bob Miller (Fairfield) 93, Jayson West (Warren Central) 92.

Related Content

Jul 15 2024

Regional Radio Sports Network and Indiana Football Digest’s, Donnie Smith Joins Jax State as Assistant AD For Media Relations.

JACKSONVILLE - Jacksonville State Athletic Director Greg Seitz has hired Donnie Smith as the Gamecocks' Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations. Smith comes to...
Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...