Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

The Rimington Trophy Committee announces its 2018 Fall Watch List

by | Jul 20, 2018 | Football Blogs, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

The Rimington Trophy Committee announces its 2018 Fall Watch List, which includes the following centers in Division I football. In order to create this list, the committee accepted nominations from programs across the country that submitted their current starting centers for consideration. This preseason, centers were nominated from every conference, with 58 total nominees and 27 past watch listers. The Pac-12 leads the list with 10 nominations, followed by the ACC with 8, and the SEC with 7.


The following is a list of those named to the 2018 Fall Watch List:


Conference School First Name Last Name Class Year Height Weight
Am. Athl.            
  UConn Ryan Crozier RS SR 6’4 294
  Houston Will Noble SR 6’5 295
  Memphis Drew Kyser SR 6’5 295
  Temple Matt Hennessy RS SO 6’4 295
  Tulsa Chandler Miller SR 6’3 293
  UCF Jordan Johnson JR 6’2 320
  Clemson Justin Falcinelli GRAD 6’4 305
  Duke Zach Harmon RS SR 6’3 285
  Florida State Alec Eberle RS SR 6’4 295
  Georgia Tech Kenny Cooper JR 6’3 305
  Miami Tyler Curtis Gauthier SR 6’5 305
  NC State Garrett McCain Bradbury SR 6’3 300
  Virginia Tech Kyle Chung RS SR 6’3 310
  Wake Forest Ryan Anderson SR 6’6 305
Big Ten            
  Iowa Keegan Render SR 6’4 307
  Maryland Brendan Moore SR 6’3 302
  Minnesota Jared Weyler RS SR 6’4 296
  Penn State Connor McGovern JR 6’5 320
  Purdue Kirk Barron SR 6’2 300
Big 12            
  Baylor Sam Tecklenburg JR 6’4 306
  Kansas State Adam Holtorf JR 6’4 295
  Oklahoma Jonathan Alvarez RS SR 6’3 312
  Texas Zach Shackelford JR 6’4 305
  Texas Tech Paul Stawarz SR 6’6 295
  Marshall Levi Brown RS JR 6’4 293
  North Texas Sosaia Mose RS JR 6’2 305
  Old Dominion Nick Clarke SR 6’4 312
  UAB Lee Dufour RS JR 6’3 300
  UTEP Derron Gatewood SR 6’2 297
  Army West Point Bryce Holland SR 6’2 295
  Notre Dame Sam Mustipher GRAD 6’2.5 304
  Ball State Andrew Poenitsch RS JR 6’3 284
  Buffalo James O’Hagan SR 6’3 305
  Eastern Michigan Dakota Tallman SR 6’5 316
  Miami (OH) Danny Godlevske RS SO 6’2 305
  NIU Luke Shively RS SR 6’3 286
  Western Michigan John Keenoy SR 6’3 300
Mtn. West            
  Nevada Sean Krepsz SR 6’5 325
  Utah State Quin Ficklin SR 6’2 300
  Arizona Nathan Eldridge RS JR 6’3 297
  Arizona State Cohl Cabral JR 6’5 291
  California Addison Ooms RS SR 6’4 295
  Oregon Jake Hanson JR 6’5 297
  Oregon State Sumner Houston SR 6’2 290
  Stanford Jesse Burkett SR 6’4 309
  USC Toa Lobendahn RS SR 6’3 295
  Utah Lo Falemaka SR 6’5 295
  Washington Nick Harris JR 6’1 297
  Washington State Frederick Mauigoa JR 6’3 305
  Alabama Ross Pierschbacher SR 6’4 309
  Florida T.J. McCoy RS JR 6’1 314
  Georgia Lamont Gaillard SR 6’2 308
  Mississippi State Elgton Jenkins SR 6’4 315
  Ole Miss Sean Rawlings SR 6’5 294
  South Carolina Donell Stanley JR 6’3 315
  Texas A&M Erik McCoy JR 6’4 315
Sun Belt            
  Georgia Southern Curtis Rainey SR 6’2 290
  Troy Deontae Crumitie SR 6’2 296




While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)


Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a “mix” of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee’s policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.


The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 12, 2019.


* * *


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, the seventeen-year old award has raised over $3.6 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only two-time winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com


The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.


About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a part of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 24 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about its story.