Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Maryland Wins 2019 National Championship


BALTIMORE, Md. – Following its 12-10 victory over Boston College in Sunday’s NCAA championship game, Maryland’s women’s lacrosse team won its fourth national title in the last six years and 14th overall.


Goaltender Megan Taylor was named the 2019 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player posting a game-high 10 saves. Brindi Griffin and Grace Griffin led the offensive attack for Maryland, tallying three goals apiece. Caroline Steele, Kali Hartshorn and Jen Giles each notched two goals on the afternoon. Lizzie Colson grabbed a game-high four ground balls.


With Maryland’s win on Sunday, Big Ten women’s lacrosse teams have won 27 national championships and 23 of the 38 NCAA Championships, including 12 of the last 15. Maryland claimed seven straight titles from 1995 to 2001, while Northwestern has won seven NCAA titles, highlighted by five consecutive from 2005 to 2009 and most recently in 2012. Penn State has earned five national championships, including NCAA titles in 1987 and 1989.


Big Ten schools have now claimed four national titles during the 2018-19 academic year, including championships for Wisconsin women’s hockey, Maryland men’s soccer, Penn State wrestling and Maryland women’s lacrosse.