Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Seven Receive Daktronics NAIA Softball Scholar-Athlete Honors


KANSAS CITY – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics announced recently that seven of Taylor’s softball players earned Daktronics NAIA Softball Scholar-Athlete honors.


Hannah Castor, Erin Cozad, Olivia Hostetler, Jen Morgan, Courtney Moriarty, Darby Shaw and Paige Wilson were among 510 individuals to receive the high honor. Castor, Hostetler and Moriarty received the honor for the second year in a row. Taylor tied with Marian for the most Scholar-Athletes in the Crossroads League with seven each. The CL boasted 34 players this year to receive the award.


In addition to their success in the classroom, the Trojans won 36 games and went to the NAIA Opening Round for the third time in program history. Taylor also won its third NAIA Tournament game in program history.


In order to be eligible to be named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status at their current institution.