CLERMONT, Fla. — On the eve of The Sun Conference Softball Tournament, the postseason awards were handed out at the annual postseason banquet.
Southeastern place four players on the All-Conference First Team, and added three more on the honorable mention list.
Outfielder Haleigh Harrell was named Freshman of the Year, and earned first team honors. The Lakeland native finished third in the league in batting average at .422, and set the program record for hits in a season with 76.
Sophomore middle infielder Sam Holcomb joined Harrell on the first team, hitting .346 with nine doubles, three triples, and six home runs, and was a perfect 15-of-15 in stolen bases.
Pitcher Hannah Bodenhorn was a first team selection during her first season with the Fire, going 18-4 with a 1.19 ERA. In 152.1 innings of work, the junior struck out 199 hitters, and held opponents to a .171 batting average.
Catcher Brandee Pietrzak was the final first team selection, posting a .349 average with 15 doubles.
The Fire also placed Kiah Ferrell, Heather Faulk, and Ashley Appell on the honorable mention list.
Additionally, Ferrell, Holcomb, and Faulk were named to the Academic All-Conference Team. To be eligible, a student-athlete must hold a minimum GPA of 3.5 and have completed two semesters at their institution.
The Fire play their first game in the conference tournament at 6:30 p.m. against Warner or Keiser.